A library database is both an electronic catalogue and the access point to information from published works.
Library databases provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topic and subject areas, such as academic research.
Library databases provide access to published information sources, such as journals and other resources.
Library databases may provide access to full-text articles and/or article abstracts.
Any registered UJ library user may access the UJ library database collection.
Journal articles are written by researchers or scholars who work in a professional or in an academic field.
An editorial board evaluates articles submitted. Subject specialists decide whether or not the article adds valuable, important or new information to the subject and whether or not the research has been conducted correctly, academically and in an ethical or moral way. Articles thus reviewed or examined are called ‘peer reviewed’.
Journal articles quote sources to substantiate information or statements and also to have an academic reading list of sources consulted for writing the article.
Step 3
a) Formulate the problem (see presentation on Systematic Literature Searching Sheila Fisken)
Clearly establish what your question is: consider using PICO:
This may need several revisions, and some ‘scoping’ of the literature, to find something that is specific and answerable. A clear, specific and answerable question is essential to a successful review.
b) Has this been done before?
To avoid wasting your time and energy, establish whether this question has already been answered in the published literature, or is registered as an ongoing review (e.g. search in DARE, which contains abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews and details of all Cochrane reviews and protocols, or NHS EED which contains abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations: http://www.crd.york.ac.uk/crdweb/)
c) Consider registering your review
This will ensure that others know yours is ongoing (and many journals will now look for registration to ensure high quality reviews which do not deviate from pre-defined criteria are published).
• For interventions, or accuracy of a diagnostic tests:
– Cochrane: http://www.cochrane.org/cochrane-reviews
• For social interventions in education, crime and justice, social welfare:
– Campbell Collaboration: http://www.campbellcollaboration.org/
• For reviews in health or social care:
– Prospero: http://www.crd.york.ac.uk/PROSPERO/