Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPhysical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects
Coverage: 1980 to the present
Al Manhal (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowThe leading Arabic electronic information provider of Arabic full text searchable databases of scholarly and scientific publications from the Middle East, Africa and Asia, including eBooks, eJournals, eTheses, intelligence reports and conference proceedings.
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOver 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Emerald (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOn campus access only
Global research with impact on business, society, public policy and education.
Journal articles and e-books. Coverage: 1898 to the present
Full text to all UJ subscribed journals and e-books collections e.g.:
Business management & Economics
Access to four bibliographic databases (abstracts available)
Computer & Communications Security Abstracts
Computer Abstracts International Database
Current Awareness Abstracts - Library and Information Management
International Civil Engineering Abstracts
GlobalData (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
JSTOR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Marketline (see GlobalData)International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics.
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens)This link opens in a new windowOxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences
Palgrave MacMillan Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis is a publisher’s database with access to more than 70 peer-reviewed journals published by the group
Current year of content (e.g. 2016) plus a 4 year rolling archive
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas.
Format: Full text
Coverage varies according to content
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas.
Coverage: 1879 to present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Sage Research Methods online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSRMO allows researchers to explore various research methods. Links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools e.g.:
· Methods maps (a visual search tool)
· SMRO Lists (data analysis, research design, etc.)
· Web resources (Statistical software, research ethics, etc.)
Try the mobile version
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
Why Cant I Google ?
Subject Specific Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
SAIRR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African Institute of Race Relations
Research, statistical data, policy critiques, forecasts and risk analysis on South Africa’s household issues
Includes the annual South African Survey
SA Media (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPlease note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers
Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.