FEBE - Mechanical Engineering Libguide: Theses & Dissertations

This page can help you in two ways:

• With guidelines for submitting your Dissertation or Theses to the Library
• Finding UJ, National and International Dissertations and Theses full-text 

Need to find completed UJ Theses & Dissertations? Then search the following resources:

• UJLink: Library Catalogue (print & electronic)
• UJContent: UJ Theses & Dissertations (the new platform for the UJ Institutional Repository)

If you would like to search for international Dissertations and Theses, then start with:

     ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

The databases below will help you to ensure that your research topic is unique in South Africa

National ETD Portal: South African theses and dissertations

This database provides information on approximately 170 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles for projects not in English.

   Africa-Wide Information

Step one: Add research via the Research Submission Tool

• Research papers, conference contributions, book chapters and all other research output other than electronic theses and dissertations can be uploaded via the OROSS Research Submission Tool
• Log in with your standard university username and password.
• Attach and upload the accepted publication version of the full-text and send it to UJ IR for processing.

Step two: Follow these instructions

UJ IR:

• A printed repository license is required for the submission of your article to the repository;
• UJ IR staff will check copyright compliance;
• You will receive an email when your research has been added;
• If you require assistance with submissions please contact UJ IR;
• Ensure that you have the agreement of co-authors before submitting papers to the repository, especially if copyright of the work has been retained by the authors;

​Hint: Please remember to upload the accepted for publication version of your file, rather than the publisher PDF. Text files should be in PDF format. Only one file should be uploaded (any appendices, figures etc. should be included in the main document). If you need to submit a further file, for example, if you have a video art work which is accompanied by a text document, please contact UJ IR​.​

For more information click here