Finding Databases & Articles - FEBE - Electrical and Electronic Engineering Libguide

Bibliographic & Abstract databases

Compendex (via Engineering Village) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Compendex is the most authoritative database of abstracted and indexed literature in engineering and the applied physical sciences. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engineering, Chemical Engineering. Content: Includes over 3600 journals,100 conference proceedings and trade magazines indexed annually.

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text

Standards

Patents

Espacenet (European Patents Office)
more...less...
Espacenet provides access to patents produced by national patent offices in Europe as well as the European Patent Office (EPO), the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and Japan.
USPTO (United States Patent & Trademark Office)
more...less...
US Patents provides access to a full-text patent database, which currently contains over six million patents recorded at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Records cover the period from 1790 to the most recent weekly issue date.

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window General reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images Coverage: 1975 to the present Abstracts Mostly full text
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Top databases for Electrical & Electronic Engineering

IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Includes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK). UJ’s subscription includes access to: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines IEEE conference proceedings IET journals IET conference proceedings IEEE published standards IEEE Standards Dictionary Online Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology Coverage: 1948 to the present ACM publications: Full text Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic

Supporting Engineering databases (for Electrical/Electronic Engineering)

Emerald
more...less...
Covers subject areas i.e. Business, Management, Marketing, Strategy, Accounting, Property & the Build Environment, Operations Logistics & Quality, Public Policy and Environmental Management.

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
more...less...
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Knovel (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Knovel’s solution is uniquely optimized for engineers and scientists and includes three main components: 1) Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors, 2) Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information, 3) Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive. Subject areas covered of importance for Electrical/Electronics Engineering include: Electrical & Power Engineering, Electrical & Power Engineering, Nanotechnology, Optics & Photonics, Software Engineering.

South African content

SA ePublications
SA and African Electronic Journals
SAIEE Africa research journal : research journal of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers

SA Media (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards. Full text
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations) Coverage: Varies according to database product Full text (except for Law and Government)

Find journals

Looking for the availability of the Full-Text of a certain Journal title/Article?

Select AtoZ Journal List

Enter the journal title in the Title field. It will indicate the databases hosting/indexing this journal. Check if the database has the full text of your article.

Select UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink)

Enter the journal title in the Title field.

If we have the journal title available in the UJ list of databases it will refer you to the relevant database links and also indicate as from when we have the full text of the specific title. If we have the print journal title available in the library it will refer you to the Periodicals collection on Level 2 (APK Library) and the relevant shelf number.

FEBE - Electrical and Electronic Engineering Libguide: Finding Databases & Articles