Skip to Main Content

FEBE - Electrical and Electronic Engineering Libguide: Electrical & Electronic Engineering students

Library Support to Electrical & Electronic Engineering students

FACULTY LIBRARIAN: FEBE                                                     

Name: Sello Borephe
Tel.: 011 559 6267
E-mail: sborephe@uj.ac.za
Physical office: DFC Library 

INFORMATION LIBRARIAN: FEBE/SCIENCE

Name: Desiree Mokgosi

Tel. 011 559 9057

E-mail: dmokgosi@uj.ac.za

Physical office: DFC Ground Floor

Library Opening Times - 2022 academic year

Access to the UJ Libraries can only be granted if you have a valid UJ Card.

You do not need to book for library access.

NB: Scan your UJ Card at the Entrance Door of the library and again at the Exit Door when you leave.

For more information, visit the Library website

Take Virtual 3D Tour of the APK Library

Borrowing Books

  • You will need your UJ student /staff card to borrow books.
  • Undergraduate students may borrow 6 books for 2 weeks (14 days)
  • For more information on membership types and borrowing privileges, see Lending Services Q1: “Who may borrow and for how long?”

Renewing Books

All items from the general collection (Open shelves) may be renewed twice if the item has not been placed on hold for/by another client).
Please note: Items from the reserve collection CANNOT be renewed.
Items may be renewed by phone (011 559 2165), online (access the Library Catalogue, click on “My UJLink” and follow the prompts) or in person at the Lending desk

Lending Self Service

You can perform the following services yourself without assistance from the Lending desk staff
– Place a hold on an item
– Renew items currently checked out
– Issue items to yourself (self-checkout)
For detailed instructions, visit Lending self service.

Missing Books

If an item shows ‘available’ on the catalogue, but it is not on the shelves:

  • Complete the online “Missing books” form
  • The Library staff will search for the item and place it on hold for you if found.
  • If not found, the item will be indicated as “Missing” on the catalogue

To search for Print & Online Books, please use the Library Catalogue 

Inter Campus Loan (ICL) 

ICL is a service through which material held by one UJ campus Library is sent to another UJ campus library for the patron’s convenience.​

Staff Responsible for ICL

Auckland Park Kingsway        Auckland Park Bunting        Auckland park FADA       Doornfontein      Soweto
Sydney Dhlamini        Keeve Thlabane        Moses Makola       Pheeha Mogoai      Duduzile Chulu
Phone: (011) 559-2678        Phone: (011) 559-1376        Phone: (011) 559-1086​       Phone: (011) 559-6752      Phone: (011) 559-5666
Office hours:
07:30 to 16:30
Monday to Friday		        Office hours:
       07:30 to 16:30
       Monday to Friday		 ​      Office hours:
      07:30 to 16:30
      Monday to Friday		       Office hours:
      07:30 to 16:30
      Monday to Friday		      Office hours:
     07:30 to 16:30
      Monday to Friday

 

InterLibrary Loan

The purpose of InterLibrary loan is to obtain material for students/clients (books and journal articles) which are not available in our library collection. Material is obtained from libraries in Southern Africa and from international libraries through national and international interlibrary loan schemes.​

Who qualifies for Interlibrary Loans?

  • 4th year undergraduate students;
  • Honours students; Registered Masters and Doctoral students;
  • Staff members of the University of Johannesburg.

How do I submit requests?

Firstly, it is essential to check the online library catalog, and the electronic journals to ensure that the required item is not held at the University of Johannesburg Library Service.

Secondly, it is essential to determine whether the journal article is available electronically in the case of journals. Electronic journal titles subscribed to by the Library Service are accessible via the online library catalog and an E-journal title A-Z list on the online databases web page

Request via the Internet only: Please fill in all the fields when you request a book or journal article online. You can use the online ILL request system at this link: https://ujlink.uj.ac.za/screens/ill_home.html, as we do not accept any other means of requesting ILL (for auditor purposes). No ILL requests will be processed without the necessary information regarding your student/staff number, address, etc.​​​​​

Welcome to UJ Library Learning Common

Learning Commons provides innovative technology enriched academic support to stimulate critical thinking and collaborative learning across all academic disciplines. 

                                   undefined

Staff & Library Tutors

Library staff provide services and assistance in the Learning Commons during Library operating hours. Student assistants and the Library Tutors are available  in the Learning Commons area to provide assistance. 

Learning Commons Rules

A Time-out system is used to control access to the computers.

45 Minutes are allowed for each session.

DOs

  • Consult the circulation desk should you experience card reading errors.
  • Consult Learning Commons Librarian should you experience any problems accessing a PC.
  • Ask for assistance with finding information and printing from the computers.
  • Make sure you save your work constantly to avoid losing any unsaved work.
  • Dispose of waste in a responsible manner.
  • Report misuse/abuse of the facility to the Learning Commons staff.
  • Respect the environment and other users of the facility at all times.

DON'Ts

  • Do not leave valuables unattended.
  • Do not remain in the Learning Commons after closing time or when requested to leave during emergency situations or drills.
  • The intentional damage, destruction or theft of anyone else's property is a crime.
  • Food and drinks not allowed, only water from spill proof containers.

How to LOGIN to Library Online Resources:

Option A: You can create a Library Password, which will enables you to login to the UJ Library databases

Option B for Postgrads:  You can LOGIN, using your Blackboard credentials: Select Student, Type your student number and Blackboard password.

Option B for Staff & researchers:  You can LOGIN, using your Staff e-mail credentials: Select STAFF, Type the fist part of your work e-mail and password.

 

Login via Open Athens

If you are prompted to this screen please use your Blackboard credentials to login and select Student

What is Lean Library?

 

University of Johannesburg Library proudly offers a brand new information accessing tool called LEAN Library.

Lean Library is a Library Access browser plug-in that allows you access to academic articles, books and other electronic resources, licensed by the UJ Library. If you start your search on Google or Google Scholar, the plugin will automatically link you to the full-text library resources. You will be prompted to sign in with your UJ credentials, when you reach an e-resource the library has access to.

Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get the full-text content.

Seamless Access:

  • Remote access to the UJ library Electronic Resources
  • Recognises the UJ library e-resources and then prompts you to authenticate

One login per browser session:

  • Once UJ authenticated, patrons can go about their research accessing the e-resources
  • Provides alternative legal routes to full-text articles and eBooks when you hit barriers

Need HELP to get started with Lean Library?  

Access to UJ Subject LibGuides per Faculty

Access to A-to-Z Databases   

Plagiarism and Referencing