It is essential that you watch the videos uploaded in the "Legal Research as well as the English for Law Library Training Videos" sections of the (240CM_002) LIBRARY SUPPORT: LAW - UNDERGRADUATE (1ST YEAR) Moodle Course. You will find excellent research tips and sources.
Visit the Databases tab and click on the relevant link in the South African legal databases box.
Jutastat Online
Lexis Library
Are you looking for international and foreign law sources?
Visit the Databases page and explore the databases linked in these boxes:
Do you need help with using the databases?
Visit the Research Support and Need Help? Contact Us pages.
Do you still need more sources?
Visit the Reputable Links page.
Find the complete list of Shelf (Subject) Codes for Law - Zastrau System on the Books tab in the Lists box
Visit the RCC section of the Law Library's Open Shelves to find books on Legal Drafting
Visit the REB section of the Law Library's Open Shelves to find books on Family Law.
Visit the RK section of the Law Library's Open Shelf to find books on International Law
Books and e-Books on Legal Research, Mediation and Moot Court available in the UJ Catalogue
Electronic books (e-books) can be searched for in the UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink) available on the Books tab.
1) Child Law in South Africa edited by Trynie Boezaart
"Child Law in South Africa is written by 22 experts in the field, edited by Professor Trynie Boezaart, an internationally acknowledged researcher in child law, and independently peer-reviewed. The book reflects the enormous scope and dynamics involved in child law and is sure to encourage further debate and analysis."
Link to access the e-book: Child Law in South Africa by Boezaart
Take note: Limited User Access (3 Copies Available)
A decision from the Constitutional Court or the Court of Appeal is binding on the lower courts when those courts decide on similar issues. But your case law research does not end simply because you've found an appellate court case that appears to support your argument.
It is necessary to verify the validity of any case you cite by checking its history and finding other cases that have cited it. Only after doing so can you rest assured that the cases supporting your argument are good law.
Use:
Hard copy ((availalble at the information desk (level 6):
Online:
Interpret your moot problem
Researching the law
See the links below with information on the most important steps to follow when doing legal research:
These links refer to legal research in other countries and jurisdictions. Some terms may therefore differ from the terminology used in South African law, but the basic preparation steps remain the same.
PRIMARY SOURCES:
Databases: 
SECONDARY SOURCES:
OR
Search for Ebooks only
Databases (South African): 
Databases (International): as well as other International Legal and Multidisciplinary Databases with legal content available on the Databases tab
LAWSA (Lexis Library)
Some of the readings recommended below may use unfamiliar legal terminology as they were written to prepare students for Moot Court competitions hosted in the UK, USA and jurisdictions other than South Africa. We recommended that you consult the publications nonetheless. The basic Moot Court preparation steps provided in the publications can be applied and adapted to South African-based Moot Court competitions.
