Journals - Law - LLB and other law degrees (1st Year Support) - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

NEED HELP?

Need help from the UJ Law Library?

Click on this link:

UJ Law Library Help

Defining "law journal" and "journal article"

What is a law journal?

"Contains articles and comments by academic writers on legal issues."

Source: Becoming a lawyer: fundamental skills for law students R4 PALM

What are journal articles?

Journal articles are written by researchers or scholars who work in a professional or in an academic field.

An editorial board evaluates articles submitted. Subject specialists decide whether or not the article adds valuable, important or new information to the subject and whether or not the research has been conducted correctly, academically and in an ethical or moral way. Articles thus reviewed or examined are called ‘peer reviewed’.

Journal articles quote sources to substantiate information or statements and also to have an academic reading list of sources consulted for writing the article.

Consult journal articles:

For scholarly or academic information

For subject-specific articles in your field of study

For subject-specific articles on a topic (The topic can be large or very specific dealing with a small aspect or part of a topic.)

For new research

For research only published in journals

For criticism or comparison of ideas, thoughts, etc.

TO FIND THE SOUTH AFRICAN LAW JOURNALS IN PRINT OR ELECTRONIC, CLICK ON THE LINK UNDER THE "LISTS" HEADING.

TO FIND A COMBINED TITLE LIST OF LAW JOURNALS ELECTRONICALLY AVAILABLE, CLICK ON THE LINK UNDER THE "LISTS" HEADING.

Journal Lists

South African Law Journals available in print and electronic 2023
This document will tell you where to find articles in full text (in print and in electronic format) .
South African Law Journals - Citations and Abbreviations

Comprehensive Law Journal Title List 2022
Compiled and regularly updated by the law library staff

South African Database Links

Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.

International Database links (Containing South African and International Journal Titles)

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

Tydskrif vir die Suid-Afrikaanse Reg (TSAR)

This multilingual periodical is published quarterly by Juta for the Faculty of Law, University of Johannesburg. This scholarly and practical journal covers a broad spectrum of topics pertinent to the legal community.

Source: Tydskrif vir die Suid-Afrikaanse Reg - Juta Journals

Research Support

Find search guides, training videos and tutorials that will assist you with searching for journals on the Research Support page of this LibGuide.

Reputable Links

Reputable Internet links to Legal Information Institute and Open Access websites can be found on the Reputable Links page of this LibGuide.

Law - LLB and other law degrees (1st Year Support): Journals