Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find search guides, training videos and tutorials to assist you with finding Newspaper articles and conducting research with Newspapers on the Research Support tab.
The Oxford English Dictionary refers to newspapers as: " A printed publication, now usually issued daily or weekly, consisting of folded unstapled sheets and containing news, freq. with the addition of advertisements, photographs, articles, and correspondence; the organization or office issuing such a publication."
However, newspapers are also available electronically at the UJ Library.
Registered UJ students and staff have access to the following newspaper databases:
Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database
Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Global news which includes the following collections: World,
South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,
Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996),
FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa,
African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)
Coverage: Varied until the present day
PressReader (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window The world’s largest online newspaper website, providing access to over 2 200 international, national and regional newspapers and magazines from 97 countries in 54 languages in full colour, full page format.
Coverage: Current news (up to 90 days back issues available)
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content