RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
If you need to manage information for any reason -- whether it be for writing, research or collaboration -- RefWorks is the perfect tool. Use the tutorials and information resources on this site to work smarter with RefWorks.
You can create a Refworks account here
Cambridge Journals Online
For Direct Export:
1. Select the item(s) you wish to save.
2. Select Export Citation(s).
3. Choose Yes in the Include Abstract for this citation option.
4. Select RefWorks (Direct Export)
5. Click Export.
6. Your records should automatically appear in the Last Imported folder.
CRCnetBASE
1. Conduct your search and select your citation and choose Download to Citation Mgr.
2. Click on Download publication citation data.
3. You will be prompted to save the file to your computer.
4. Select the location where you want to save the file, type the name you want and select Text as the Save As Type.
5. Log in to RefWorks.
6. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
7. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database.
8. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
9. Click Import.
10. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Credo Reference
For Multiple Records Direct Export:
1. Conduct your search.
2. On the results page, select the entries that you want to export by clicking the checkbox next to each search result. You can also select items to export when viewing the full-text entry. Click the checkbox next to the entry heading.
3. Click on Saved Results which appears at the top of every page.
4. In the Action box, select Export to RefWorks and click the Go button.
5. Log in to RefWorks.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
eBRARY
Note: You must enable integration with RefWorks prior to exporting records. This is a one time only set-up. To do this, click My Settings, located to the right of the language choice drop-down menu. In the Managing Bibliographic Information area, click the Show RefWorks button.
Enabling this option will place RefWorks in the InfoTools drop-down and your bookshelf.
To export a single document:
1. Click the RefWorks button below the document on the search results page or...
2. Open the document in the ebrary QuickView Reader and select InfoTools, RefWorks.
To export multiple documents from a Bookshelf Folder:
1. Sign in to ebrary and select the Bookshelf tab. You must be signed in to view your bookshelf.
2. Select the folder with the references you wish to export.
3. Click the RefWorks button.
EBSCOhost
For Direct Export:
1. Conduct a search.
2. Click on the Add to folder icon for each of the results you want to save.
3. Click on the Folder icon in the upper right-hand corner.
4. Re-select the references to export.
5. Click on the Export icon.
6. Click the radio button in front of Direct Export to RefWorks to initiate a direct export.
Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.
7. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Engineering Village
For Direct Export:
1. Conduct a search and mark the items you wish to export.
2. Select Download from the search results page.
3. Select RefWorks direct import and click on Download.
4. The export will open RefWorks, if it is not already open, and you will be prompted to log in.
5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Emerald
Note: You are allowed to place up to 10 items in the Marked list. Save save and export more than 10 items, you must set up a profile with Emerald.
For Direct Export:
1. Conduct your search and select the records you want to import to your marked list.
2. Click the Go button to add your selections to the Marked List.
3. Click on Marked List on the left-hand side of the screen.
4. Click on Export Options. The screen will expand.
5. Click the Direct Export to RefWorks button.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
GALE Cengage Learning - InfoTrac
1. Conduct your search and mark the records you want to import.
2. Click on View All.
3. Click on Citation Tools in the Tools area.
4. In the export to third party software, select RefWorks and click the Export button.
5. Click on RefWorks to start the export.
5. The export will open RefWorks, if it is not already open, and you will be prompted to log in.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Google Scholar
For Direct Export:
Note: To configure the direct export to RefWorks, you must configure Google Scholar by clicking on the Options icon, then click on the Scholar Preferences link and select RefWorks as your default in the Bibliography Manager area. Click Save Preferences when finished.
1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar.
2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link. Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.
3. Once you log in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference. If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.
4. Your record is stored in your Last Imported Folder.
IEEE/ Xplore
1. When viewing a citation you wish to save, click Abstract.
2. Click on Download this Citation at the top of the screen.
3. Select Citation and Abstract from the Choose drop-down menu.
4. Select RefWorks from the Download drop-down menu.
5. Click the Download button.
6. Your citation will be saved as a file with a . jsp extension.
7. Log in to RefWorks.
8. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
9. Select RIS Format as the data source and IEEE/ IEL as the database.
10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
(Taylor & Francis)
1. Conduct your search and Add to Marked List from the Selected drop-down.
2. When you are ready to export, click on the View Marked Lists link.
3. Select the items in your list and select Download Citation from the Selected drop-down.
4. Select RefWorks Direct Export from the Choose a format drop-down.
5. Select Citation and Abstract and Download file.
6. You will be prompted to save a . ris file to your computer.
7. Log in to RefWorks.
8. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
9. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source and database.
10. Browse to find the . ris file you saved to your computer.
11. Click Import.
12. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
JSTOR
For Direct Export:
1. Conduct your search and select the citations you want to import.
2. Click the Save Citations button.
3. Select MyJSTOR from the menu toolbar and Saved Citations (or click on the link under your account name that says "XX Saved Citation(s)).
4. Select the citations to export and click the Export Citations button.
5. Under the Export Options, select RefWorks.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Knovel
For Direct Export:
Note: You can only export one record at a time.
1. Conduct your search and click on the title link for the book citation you want to import.
2. Click the Citation button.
3. A preview of the citation displays and you can modify it to include specific pages numbers.
4. Click Export.
5. Select RefWorks.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder
MathSciNet
1. Save citations by clicking the Add to Clipboard button.
2. Review your marked citations by clicking the View Clipboard button.
3. Select format Citations ( BibTeX) and click Text.
4. Using your browser's Save As function, navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file and save the file in the text (. txt) format.
5. Log in to RefWorks.
6. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
7. Select BibTeX as the data source and MathSciNet as the database.
8. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
9. Click Import.
10. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
ProQuest
For Direct Export:
1. Perform a search and mark the references you want to export.
2. You can choose to export the items now or add them to My Research and add additional records for exporting later. If you add the records to My Research, select that folder tab when you are ready to export. If you choose to export only the selected records on that page, skip to #4 below.
3. From My Research, select Export Citations.
4. Select Export directly to RefWorks.
5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Sabinet
For Direct Export:
1. Mark the records you with to export.
2. Click the Export icon.
3. On the Direct Export page, click Export marked records directly to the RefWorks library (you may receive a prompt to allow sub-frames to navigate across different domains -- if so, click Yes).
4. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Sage Journals Online
For Direct Export:
1. Conduct your search and mark the items you wish to export.
2. Click Add to My Citations.
3. Make sure the email/download/save/print option is selected and click the Go button.
4. Select Citation + Abstract from the Format drop-down and click the Download to Citation Manager button.
5. Click on RefWorks (do not click on the link below the word RefWorks, otherwise you will be saving a file to your computer).
6.The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
ScienceDirect
For Direct Export:
1. Mark the records you want to import and click Export Citations.
2. Select either All documents or Only these documents for the Marked records.
3. Select Citations + Abstracts to export the record's abstracts.
4. Select the RefWorks Direct Export and click Export.
5. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
SciFinder
1. From the search results page select the references you want to import.
2. Click Export (from the top of the results list).
3. In the Export options, select either All Answers or Only Selected Answers.
4. Name your file.
5. Select Tagged Format (*.txt) as the file type.
6. Click Export.
7. Log in to RefWorks.
8. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
9. Select CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the database.
10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
11. Click Import.
12. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Scopus
For Direct Export:
1. Conduct your search and mark your records for import.
2. Select Export as the desired output type.
3. Select RefWorks direct export as the export format.
4. Select the citation format you prefer. For the most complete record, we recommend selecting Complete Format as your citation format.
5. Click the Export button.
6. Log in to RefWorks.
Note: You can bypass logging in by entering your RefWorks login information in your Scopus Settings area and selecting RefWorks Settings. Entering your information in this area will also allow Scopus to display a RefWorks icon next to records in Scopus that you already have in your RefWorks database, helping prevent the importing of duplicate records.
7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
SpringerLink
1. Click on the title of the item you wish to export.
2. Click the Export Citation button.
3. Under Export select Citation and Abstract.
4. Under Select Citation Manager select RefWorks (RIS).
5. Click the Export Citation button. You will be prompted to save a text file to your computer, so click the Save button.
6. Log in to RefWorks.
7. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
8. Select RIS Format as the data source and the database.
9. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
10. Click Import.
11. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Wiley Online Library
1. Conduct your search.
2. Select the records you want to import.
3. Click Download Selected Citations.
4. Select Plain Text as your format and Abstracts and Citations as your Export Type. Also select the appropriate file type.
5. You will be prompted to save a . txt file to your computer. Click Save and navigate to the local drive and directory where you want to save the file.
6. Log in to RefWorks.
7. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
8. Select Wiley InterScience as the data source and as the database.
9. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
10. Click Import.
11. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
