FEBE - Postgraduate and Research Support: IEEE Referencing Style Manual

Helps both engineers and students improve their writing skills by learning to analyze target audience, tone, and purpose in order to effectively write technical documents This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields is broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" The first section helps readers approach their writing in a logical and persuasive way as well as analyze their purpose for writing. The second section demonstrates how to distinguish rhetorical situations and the generic forms to inform, train, persuade, and collaborate. The emergence of the global workplace has brought with it an increasingly important role for effective technical communication. Engineers more often need to work in cross-functional teams with people in different disciplines, in different countries, and in different parts of the world. Engineers must know how to communicate in a rapidly evolving global environment, as both practitioners of global English and developers of technical documents. Effective communication is critical in these settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields Addresses the increasing demand for technical writing courses geared toward engineers Allows readers to perfect their writing skills in order to present knowledge and ideas to clients, government, and general public Covers topics most important to the working engineer, and includes sample documents Includes a companion website that offers engineering documents based on real projects The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication is a handbook developed specifically for engineers and engineering students. Using an argumentation framework, the handbook presents information about forms of engineering communication in a clear and accessible format. This book introduces both forms that are characteristic of the engineering workplace and principles of logic and rhetoric that underlie these forms. As a result, students and practicing engineers can improve their writing in any situation they encounter, because they can use these principles to analyze audience, purpose, tone, and form.

All assignments need to include correct references: this book shows you how. Cite them right is the renowned guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism. It is an essential resource for every student and author, providing clear and comprehensive coverage of a crucial part of academic study. Now in its ninth edition, the book continues to provide detailed examples for all print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art and images. Key features: • Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter • Examples are given in Harvard, APA, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver referencing styles • Simplified advice on referencing online publications • More sources now covered, including translated and non-English publications, graffiti, packaging, wills, medical images, statues, PowerPoint presentations and collected works • Guidance on what is plagiarism and how to avoid it

Why is accurate referencing important? How do I reference sources correctly? What must I do to avoid plagiarism in my written work? How can I use referencing to assert my own ideas? This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources. Tackling all the main forms of referencing - Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - in an accessible and comprehensive manner, you'll want to dip into this book time and again. A unique feature of the book is the comparisons it makes between different referencing styles, which are shown side-by-side. This provides a useful guide, particularly for students on combined studies courses who may be expected to use two, and sometimes three, different referencing styles. This new edition offers: A detailed guide to referencing electronic sources and choosing reliable internet sites Additional 'frequently asked questions' and answers Research findings of student perceptions of referencing Cases of referencing in practice by real students Examples of referencing in action Exercises and quizzes to test your knowledge Advice on the use of referencing management software The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing in academic writing to reflect their own ideas, constructively apply the work of others, and to avoid plagiarism.