Skip to Main Content
Theses & Dissertations
ETD - UJ Electronic Thesis & Dissertation Database This link opens in a new window
UJ Electronic theses & dissertations
Coverage: 2000 to present
Full text with abstracts
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997 along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
OCLC This link opens in a new window
Online Catalog of the Library of Congress.
Username & Password required - available to library staff only.
Includes a wide variety of electronic resources in a number of different formats and collections e.g.:
· ArticleFirst – OCLC index of articles
· ECO (Electronic Collections Online) – OCLC collection of scholarly journals
· EBooks - OCLC catalogue of electronic books available
· OAIster - OCLC Union catalogue of digital resources
· WorldCat – OCLC catalogue of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
· WorldCatDissertations - A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat
· SACat – National Union catalogue – reflecting stock of libraries in Southern Africa
Coverage: 1967 to the present
Bibliographic
NEXUS This link opens in a new window
National Research Foundation.
South African research projects registered with the NRF, including theses and dissertations (current and completed)
Coverage: 1919 to the present
Bibliographic with some abstracts