Books - Law - LLMs in the Department of Mercantile Law - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

Prescribed Textbooks

The prescribed books for the different LLM modules are found at the Law Information Desk on Level 6. Please ask a Law Library Assistant to help you obtain the prescribed books.

Lists

Shelf (Subject) Codes for Law - Zastrau System
A different Classification System, the Zastrau Code System, is used for the law collection on level 6. Refer to the list: Shelf (Subject) Codes for Law - Zastrau System. The instructions on locating the Zastrau Shelf Code are found on this tab.

Databases with Books

Visit the Databases tab to find e-books on the databases that UJ is subscribed to.

Books and Loose-Leaf Publications Electronically Available on Law Databases

South African:

See list

International:

Click on thenext to a particular database link to view the database description

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

Legal Classics

Includes thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history.

Hague Academy Collected Courses Online / Recueil des cours en ligne

This database includes the complete archive of collected Hague courses dating back to their inception in 1923, twelve periodic indexes, the official publications from the Workshops organized by the Academy, and a collection of works published by the Centre for Studies and Research.

Kluwer Law Online Manuals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Encyclopaedia of Law Series (IEL), loose-leafs in electronic format Coverage: updated regularly Full Text

Looseleaf publications in electronic format in areas such as corporate and commercial law, litigation, labour law and transport law.

Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Books

Full text electronically available

e-Books and Collections

Electronic books can be searched for in the UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink) or in UJoogle.

Some electronic titles also form part of collections available on the UJ databases.

e-Books available on Multidisciplinary Databases that contain Law Books

Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences. Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books on a variety of topics. Format: Full text. Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers. UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Taylor and Francis ebooks (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Library e-book guide

How to Locate Books in the UJ Law Library with the Zastrau Code

UJ Library Catalogue

UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink)

Research Support

Find search guides, training videos and tutorials to assist you with finding and conducting research with books and e-books on the Research Support tab.

Reputable Links

Reputable Internet links to South African and international publishers, as well as to South African university libraries, and e-books, can be found on the Reputable Links tab.

New in!

The University of Johannesburg Library proudly offers a brand new information accessing tool called LEAN Library.

Law - LLMs in the Department of Mercantile Law: Books

NEED HELP?

On this page, you will find: