Journals - Law - Postgraduate Diploma in Tax Law (PGDTL) - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

On this page, you will find:

Lists that will assist you to locate academic journals in the Law Library and on the various databases.
Links to online journal search tools.
Categorised links the the databases that contain journals.
General and explanatory information on journals.
Links to our Reputable Links and Research Support pages.
A link to the website that contains the Contemporary Labour Law journal title.

Journal Lists

South African Law Journals available in print and electronic 2023
This document will tell you where to find articles in full text (in print and in electronic format) .
South African Law Journals - Citations and Abbreviations

Comprehensive Law Journal Title List 2022
Compiled and regularly updated by the law library staff

South African Database Links

Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.

International Database links (Containing South African and International Journal Titles)

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

International Legal Database links (with International Journal Titles)

Kluwer Law Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals Coverage: From Vol. 1 Full Text
Legal Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, including book reviews and case citations Coverage: Vol. 1 to the present Full text
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Formerly known as LexisNexis UK. Lexis+ UK is an important source of full text legal information. It provides access to UK, EU, US, and international case law, legislation, legal journals, as well as UK national and regional newspapers. • Coverage varies according to title. • Full text.
SCC Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Indian case law, statutory law, secondary material, foreign and international material Coverage: varies according to title Full Text
Westlaw International (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International law, Ebooks Books, Treaties, Journal articles, Case Law and Legislation Coverage: Varies according to title Partly full text
Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases with some legal content

Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers humanities, social sciences and international law Coverage: varies per collection Full text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content

JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Journal Search Tools

UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink) This link opens in a new window The UJ Library catalogue reflects the collection of items found in its various libraries. It is a systematically arranged list of all library holdings. All formats are reflected, such as print and e-books, periodical titles, manuscripts, maps, films, audio records and other graphic material. It contains the bibliographical information of each document.

Reputable Links

Reputable Internet links to Open Access Journals via the Legal Information Institutes and AJOL can be found on the Reputable Links tab.

Research Support

Find quick clips, search guides, training videos and tutorials to assist you with finding Journal Articles and conducting research with Law Journal Articles on the Research Support tab.

Definitions

Law Journal:

"Contains articles and comments by academic writers on legal issues"

Source: Becoming a lawyer : fundamental skills for law students R4 PALM

JOURNAL ARTICLES:

Journal articles are written by researchers or scholars who work in a professional or in an academic field.

An editorial board evaluates articles submitted. Subject specialists decide whether or not the article adds valuable, important or new information to the subject and whether or not the researchs has been conducted correctly, academically and in an ethical or moral way. Articles thus reviewed or examined are called ‘peer reviewed’.

Journal articles quote sources to substantiate information or statements and also to have an academic reading list of sources consulted for writing the article.

Consult journal articles:

For scholarly or academic information

For subject specific articles in your field of study

For subject specific articles on a topic (The topic can be large or very specific dealing with a small aspect or part of a topic.)

For new research

For research only published in journals

For criticism or comparison of ideas, thoughts, etc.

TO FIND THE SOUTH AFRICAN LAW JOURNALS IN PRINT OR ELECTRONIC, CLICK ON THE LINK UNDER THE "LISTS" HEADING.

TO FIND A COMBINED TITLE LIST OF LAW JOURNALS ELECTRONICALLY AVAILABLE, CLICK ON THE LINK UNDER THE "LISTS" HEADING.

Law - Postgraduate Diploma in Tax Law (PGDTL): Journals

NEED HELP?