Health Sciences - Nursing Sciences: Find Journal Articles (Databases)

A library database is both an electronic catalogue and the access point to information from published works such as journals and other resources.

Library databases may provide access to full-text articles and/or article abstracts.

Any registered UJ library user may access & use the UJ library database collection.

Journal articles are written by researchers or scholars who work in a professional or in an academic field.

An editorial board evaluates articles submitted. Subject specialists decide whether or not the article adds valuable, important or new information to the subject and whether or not the researchs has been conducted correctly, academically and in an ethical or moral way. Articles thus reviewed or examined are called ‘peer reviewed’.

Journal articles quote sources to substantiate information or statements and also to have an academic reading list of sources consulted for writing the article.

How do I access databases?

Africa-Wide Information 

is a databases to research and publications by Africans and about Africa

Sabinet African Journals

includes African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals

DATABASE USERGUIDE

PubMed is a medical database with citations and abstracts of biomedical literature (Pubmed, n.d.).

Sabinet Legal

• UJ Library webpage
• Databases
• A to Z Journal List
• UJoogle
• UJLink (Library catalogue)
• Reference techniques - Harvard method