FADA - Graphic Design: Find Images

ARTstor is a  nonprofit digital library with a database of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences that are available for educational and research purposes. 

Vectors & Illustrations

Unsplash

• Ad*Access
  - Over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955.
• AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
  - Television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
• AIGA Design Archives
  - More than 20,000 selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924 through the present.
• ARTstor   
  USD access requires USD email username and password.
• Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920
  - Images and historical print advertisements from 1850-1920.
• Graphic Design Archive Online
  - Significant American graphic designers active from the 1920s to the 1950s.
• GRaphicARTnews
  - Blog for graphic designers and photographers, focusing on high quality designs and art photography.
• Medicine and Madison Avenue
  - Health related print ads.
  - 1910s - 1950s
• The One Club
  - Non-profit organization devoted to elevating creative work in the industry.

Artcyclopedia: A guide to art on the Internet. 8,700 artists listed, 2,600 art sites indexed, over 100,000 links

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT):  is a personal, non-profit initiative by Allan T. Kohl—an art historian and visual resources curator. Its goal is to provide free-access, public domain images of art and architecture for educational use at all levels, as well as for the general public.

Getty Search Gateway Open Content Program from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute are freely available through the Getty’s Open Content Program.

Google Arts and Culture

Image Collections and Online Art: An extensive classified list of links to online image websites compiled by the University of Michigan School of Art & Design

New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Over 600,000 digitized images from primary sources and rare prints are accessible through The New York Public Library’s digital collections.

Public Domain Image Resources (list provided by Wikimedia): Extensive list of sources for finding images in the public domain.

Umbra Search: Umbra Search is a project that highlights images of African American history through digitization, bringing together materials from over 1,000 libraries.

Web Gallery of Art: A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.

Wikimedia Commons: A database of 13,606,278 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.