CBE - Applied Information Systems Guide: Research Management Tools

Research Management tools is the tools use to manage research. There are Research management software, these include RefWork, Mendeley, Zetero, Endnote, etc.

Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyses academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyses these and presents the following metrics:

• Total number of papers and total number of citations
• Average citations per paper, citations per author, papers per author, and citations per year
• Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
• Egghe's g-index
• The contemporary h-index
• Three variations of individual h-indices
• The average annual increase in the individual h-index
• The age-weighted citation rate
• An analysis of the number of authors per paper.

The results are available on-screen and can also be copied to the Windows clipboard (for pasting into other applications) or saved to a variety of output formats (for future reference or further analysis). Publish or Perish includes a detailed help file with search tips and additional information about the citation metrics. Click Here to learn more about it: 

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

• Automatically generate bibliographies
• Collaborate easily with other researchers online
• Easily import papers from other research software
• Find relevant papers based on what you’re reading
• Access your papers from anywhere online
• Read papers on the go, with our new iPhone app

 To create an account please click here

• Journal Citation Reports A tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11,000 journals in the areas of science and technology as well as the social sciences.
  Format: Full text and abstracts
  Coverage varies according to content

• Scopus (OpenAthens) Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

• Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
  Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science

An online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
If you need to manage information for any reason - whether it be for writing, research or collaboration -- RefWorks is the perfect tool. Use the RefWorks LibGuide and information resources on the RefWorks site to work smarter with RefWorks​!

To create an account please click here