Law - LLB and other law degrees (Undergraduate) Senior Student Support: Finding Law Reports

Click on thenext to a particular database link to view the database description

South African Databases for Case Law:

International and Foreign Databases for Case Law:

Acronyms of Law Reports are as follows: ​

SA = South African Law Reports                                                             

All SA = All South African Law Reports

BCLR = Butterworths Constitutional Law Reports

CPLR = Competition Law Reports

BALR  = Butterworths Arbitration Law Reports

BLLR = Butterworths Labour Law Reports

BPLR = Butterworths Pension Law Reports

LAW REPORTS BEFORE 1947

• Law reports before 1947 were published in separate volumes for each of the High Courts in the Cape Colony, Natal, the Orange Free State and the Transvaal. 
• Some of the earlier reports were published privately and are known by the person responsible for publishing the cases i.e. Watermeyer, Searle, Menzies and Buchanan.

Electronic copies of these cases are available on the Lexis Library database.

• PRENTICE HALL WEEKLY LEGAL SERVICE is a weekly legal digest of cases decided in the Supreme Courts.  Judgments are brief and classified in different subjects

LAW REPORTS AFTER 1947

• Since 1947, the Provincial and Supreme Court law reports were gathered into one publication - the South African Law Reports
• Cases are published by Juta as a consolidated series known as the South African Law Reports (citation format is standardised)
• The All South African Law Reports is published by LexisNexis Butterworths

Electronic formats are available in the Jutastat Online and Lexis Library databases.

SPECIALIST LAW REPORT SERIES

Since the early 1990's several specialist law report series were published such as the South African Criminal Law Reports, the Butterworths Labour Law Reports and the Butterworths Constitutional Law Reports.

TO FIND THE SOUTH AFRICAN LAW REPORTS IN PRINT OR ELECTRONIC, CLICK ON ONE OF THE LINKS UNDER THE "LISTS" HEADING.

Click on thenext to a particular database link to view the law reports available on that database.

• Click here for a list of law reports covered