Skip to Main Content

Law - LLB and other law degrees (Undergraduate) Senior Student Support: Reference Sources

Research assistance, subject guides and useful library resources for senior undergraduate law students, compiled by the Faculty of Law librarians

NEED HELP?

Need help from the UJ Law Library?

Click on this link:

UJ Law Library Help

Research Support

Find search guides, training videos and tutorials to assist you with finding Reference Sources and conducting research with Reference Sources on the Research Support tab.

Electronic reference works for Law available on UJ databases

Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.

Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

Spinelli's Law Library Reference Shelf (International)

Includes legal dictionaries

Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Black's Law Dictionary available

Subject-specific Encyclopaedias and Encyclopaedias that also cover specific jurisdictions available on Databases

Kluwer Law Online Manuals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Encyclopaedia of Law Series (IEL), loose-leafs in electronic format Coverage: updated regularly Full Text
Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Jurisprudence & Encyclopedias covers 32 publications of different jurisdictions

Reputable Links

Reputable Internet link to Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations can be found on the Reputable Links tab

Selection of key reference works for law in the Library on Level 6

GENERAL

Indices

Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations

SOUTH AFRICA

Dictionaries

Legal Encyclopaedias

Law of South Africa

Noter-ups (Case Annotations)

INTERNATIONAL AND FOREIGN

Dictionaries

General
- The Oxford English dictionary
Legal
- Black's law dictionary

Legal Encyclopaedias

Halsbury's laws of England

Noter-ups (Case Annotations)

All England law reports. Consolidated tables and index