Skip to main content

Library - University of Johannesburg E-Book Seminar: 14 September 2018: Sunette Steyn - UNISA

This guide is intended to be your gateway to our upcoming E-book seminar that will be held on 14 September 2018.

eBook Seminar

Biography

Sunette Steyn (UNISA)

Sunette Steyn works in the Information Content Resource Management Directorate of the UNISA Library as a Collection Developer. She has 29 years’ experience of academic librarianship. Her current role includes the selection and management of printed as well as e-book collections for the School of Social Sciences.

Dare to dream on cloud nine

The University librarians and knowledge specialists in the global south have of recent been engaged in processes that require them to revisit their collection development policies due to the transforming higher education landscape and reprioritization of budgets. The open science movement and in particular the digitization and access of collections has made the role played by librarians and knowledge specialists critical in understanding and harmonizing their selection process for sustaining the collections in support of PQM (Programme Quality Mix) as part of the Teaching, Learning and Community Engagement processes.Introducing innovations that are more radical will become an important collection development strategy of the research library in order to meet the needs of the 21st century information society. How can we best adapt our purchasing models to get better value for money? We allow vendors to offer us, according to them, great deals. What alternative approaches can be negotiated that would demonstrate total value to stakeholders and support the strategic transformation of the library eBook selection. The paper attempts to share the dream of alternative models for e-book selection.

Full text presentation

Scan and view presentation: