Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Shelf Collections
Books (academic and leisure reading): Books for loan are shelved on the floors of the library which can be borrowed with your staff card for use off-campus. The books are classified according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System.
- Permanent academic staff - 30 items for 60 days
- Temporary academic staff - 6 items for 14 days
The library keeps material prescribed by lecturers for students separate from the Open Shelf Collection behind the Circulation Desk. Students can then loan these items in the library for 2 hours at a time.
Reference works, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are not for loan and can be used in the library. However, on special request librarians can permit the loan of reference works.
The university’s Special Collections comprise collections of primary source material and rare books, with the focus on Southern Africa. This collection is housed at the Doornfontein Campus Library.
This collection consists of:
- Electronic Books accessible from our library's online catalogue
- Databases: E-journals,A-Z (multidisciplinary and subject-specific) and e-books
- Electronic Course Reserves: Material can be accessed for specific courses (prescribed or recommended readings)
- Online reading: Online magazines, newspapers (local/international) and Overdrive which consists of electronic and audio books for leisure reading
- Online exam papers.
- Faculty Subject Guides: These are guides are developed by the faculty librarians to support research in a specific discipline or on a specific topic
- Institutional Repository: UJ IR is an open access repository aims to collect, preserve, and showcase the research output produced, affiliated or owned by the University of Johannesburg for a global audience
- Ujoogle: A one-stop-shop search engine.