Depend on your topic, you can select as many of these databases to search for relevant documents
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Biological and Agricultural Index (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArticles, review articles, book reviews, reports, and special supplements on Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology, Environment, Soil Science, Plant Pathology, etc.
Coverage: 1983 to present
Bibliographic
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
GreenFILE (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Coverage: Varies according to title
Format: Abstracts and full text
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowTourism and hospitality
Coverage: 1965 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text with some embargoes for the current two years
Humanities Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFocus is on Humanities
Coverage: 1907 (in some cases) to the present
Full- text with some embargoes
INSPEC (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images
Coverage: 1975 to the present
Abstracts
Mostly full text
Urban Studies Abstracts (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Bibliographic
Waters & Oceans Worldwide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowDatabases on all facets of international water research. Includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment.
Coverage: 1970+
Bibliographic with abstracts
Partly Full text, two year embargo for some journal titles
Google Scholar
Multidisciplinary & Full-Text Databases
ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology
Coverage: 1948 to the present
ACM publications: Full text
Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
CABI Databases (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific resources within the applied life sciences.
UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full text access to the following specialized CABI databases:
Aromatic & Medicinal Plants
Crop Physiology
Helminthology
Horticultural Science
Ornamental Horticulture
Plant Growth Regulators
Plant Pathology
Postharvest Research
Rural Development
and free full text access to:
Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria
Full Text Select (journal articles some in foreign languages with abstracts in English)
Coverage: 1910 to the present
Bibliographic with abstracts
Partly full text
Computer Database (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. Includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Kanopy (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowMovies & Documentaries for film lovers covering multiple subject fields including Business, Arts, Film & popular, Education , Global Studies etc
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK).
UJ’s subscription includes access to:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines
IEEE conference proceedings
IET journals
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Digital Archives (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAn ongoing initiative to digitize unique and rare primary sources; a huge range of photos, maps, sketches, tables, letters, books and journals. Access to three of the collections: The New York Academy of Sciences – covering a wide range of original sources; The Royal Anthropological Institute – historical research into topics from Archaeology to geographic and religious studies; The Royal College of Physicians – with documents from astronomy to neurology going back over 500 years.
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
Business, Economic & Country Profiles Databases
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowRegister your own Username and Password.
South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data
Coverage: 2000 to the present
Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
GlobalData (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
Marketline (see GlobalData)International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics.
Coverage varies.
Full Text
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOrganisation for Economic Co-operation & Development.
Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues
Coverage: 1998 to the present
Full text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowBased on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources:
More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist).
Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Statista (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowStatistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics, Reports, Infographics, Services & Global Consumer Survey
Coverage: Latest
Format: Online Reports, Tables, Lists
Who owns whom (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African industry reports and company profiles
Coverage: 1980s to the present
Latest and historical annual reports from 2003 to the present
Includes the latest edition of Who owns Whom in South Africa
Full text
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
World Competitiveness Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInformation on the competitiveness of nations since 1989. Country analysis and cross-country comparisons re economy, government, business and infrastructure
Coverage: Last 13 years
Full text
Yearbook of International Associations (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowDetailed international (active and dormant) organization profiles. No coverage of for-profit-organizations.
Coverage: 1997 to present. Full text.
Extensively links organization profiles to:
– Organizations’ own websites
– Other UIA subscription databases – incl. International Congress Calendar
– Free UIA databases: Encyclopaedia of World Problems and Human Potential IGO Search – through intergovernmental organization websites
Logotypes of International Organizations
Transnational Associations Online – UIA journal archive
Automatic translation in 58 languages – also in Afrikaans
