Aggregators eBook Platforms:
Publishers eBooks Platforms/Databases:
Physics & Astrophysics Cambridge New Online Books 2018-Apr 2019
Stargazing for Dummies (Online; ProQuest; Unlimited users) by
Reach for the stars Stargazing is the practice of observing the night sky and its contents - from constellations through to planets and galaxies. Stars and other night sky objects can be seen with the naked eye, or seen in greater numbers and in more detail with binoculars or a telescope. Stargazing For Dummies offers you the chance to explore the night sky, providing a detailed guide to the main constellations and also offering advice on viewing other night sky objects such as planets and nebulae. It's a great introduction to a fun new hobby, and even provides a fun way to get the kids outside while doing something educational! Gives you an introduction to looking at the sky with binoculars or a telescope Offers advice on photographing the night sky Without needing to get your head around mind-bending theories, you can take part in some practical physics If you're looking for easy-to-follow guidance on getting to know the night sky, Stargazing For Dummies has you covered.
Quantum Physics for Dummies (Online; ProQuest; Unlimited Users) by
Quantum Physics For Dummies, Revised Edition helps make quantum physics understandable and accessible. From what quantum physics can do for the world to understanding hydrogen atoms, readers will get complete coverage of the subject, along with numerous examples to help them tackle the tough equations. Compatible with classroom text books and courses, Quantum Physics For Dummies, Revised Edition lets students study at their own paces and helps them prepare for graduate or professional exams. Coverage includes: The Schrodinger Equation and its Applications The Foundations of Quantum Physics Vector Notation Spin Scattering Theory, Angular Momentum, and more Your plain-English guide to understanding and working with the micro world Quantum physics ? also called quantum mechanics or quantum field theory ? can be daunting for even the most dedicated student or enthusiast of science, math, or physics. This friendly, concise guide makes this challenging subject understandable and accessible, from atoms to particles to gases and beyond. Plus, it's packed with fully explained examples to help you tackle the tricky equations like a pro! Compatible with any classroom course ? study at your own pace and prepare for graduate or professional exams Your journey begins here ? understand what quantum physics is and what kinds of problems it can solve Know the basic math ? from state vectors to quantum matrix manipulations, get the foundation you need to proceed Put quantum physics to work ? make sense of Schrödinger's equation and handle particles bound in square wells and harmonic oscillators Solve problems in three dimensions ? use the full operators to handle wave functions and eigenvectors to find the natural wave functions of a system Discover the latest research ? learn the cutting-edge quantum physics theories that aim to explain the universe itself
Introductory Nuclear Physics (Online, 3 Users, EbscoHost) by
A comprehensive, unified treatment of present–day nuclear physics–the fresh edition of a classic text/reference.<br /> <br /> "A fine and thoroughly up–to–date textbook on nuclear physics . . . most welcome." –Physics Today (on the First Edition).<br /> <br /> What sets Introductory Nuclear Physics apart from other books on the subject is its presentation of nuclear physics as an integral part of modern physics. Placing the discipline within a broad historical and scientific context, it makes important connections to other fields such as elementary particle physics and astrophysics.<br /> <br /> Now fully revised and updated, this Second Edition explores the changing directions in nuclear physics, emphasizing new developments and current research–from superdeformation to quark–gluon plasma. Author Samuel S.M. Wong preserves those areas that established the First Edition as a standard text in university physics departments, focusing on what is exciting about the discipline and providing a concise, thorough, and accessible treatment of the fundamental aspects of nuclear properties.<br /> <br /> In this new edition, Professor Wong:<br /> ∗ Includes a chapter on heavy–ion reactions–from high–spin states to quark–gluon plasma<br /> ∗ Adds a new chapter on nuclear astrophysics<br /> ∗ Relates observed nuclear properties to the underlying nuclear interaction and the symmetry principles governing subatomic particles<br /> ∗ Regroups material and appendices to make the text easier to use<br /> ∗ Lists Internet links to essential databases and research projects<br /> ∗ Features end–of–chapter exercises using real–world data.<br /> <br /> Introductory Nuclear Physics, Second Edition is an ideal text for courses in nuclear physics at the senior undergraduate or first–year graduate level. It is also an important resource for scientists and engineers working with nuclei, for astrophysicists and particle physicists, and for anyone wishing to learn more about trends in the field.
Theoretical Nuclear and Subnuclear Physics (Online, 1 User, EbscoHost) by
This book is a revised and updated version of the most comprehensive text on nuclear and subnuclear physics, first published in 1995. It maintains the original goal of providing a clear, logical, in-depth, and unifying treatment of modern nuclear theory, ranging from the nonrelativistic many-body problem to the standard model of the strong, electromagnetic, and weak interactions. In addition, new chapters on the theoretical and experimental advances made in nuclear and subnuclear physics in the past decade have been incorporated.Four key topics are emphasized: basic nuclear structure, the relativistic nuclear many-body problem, strong-coupling QCD, and electroweak interactions with nuclei. New chapters have been added on the many-particle shell model, effective field theory, density functional theory, heavy-ion reactions and quark-gluon plasma, neutrinos, and electron scattering.This book is designed to provide graduate students with a basic understanding of modern nuclear and hadronic physics needed to explore the frontiers of the field. Researchers will benefit from the updates on developments and the bibliography.
Nuclear Physics: Present and Future (Online, SpringerLink) by
State-of-the-art survey by leading experts in the field. Major foci are superheavy nuclei and neutron-rich exotic nuclei. In addition new developments in nuclear fission and nuclear cluster decay are shown. Finally developments in relativistic heavy ion collisions and the physics of supercritical fields are detailed.
The Physics of Fluids and Plasmas: An Introduction for Astrophysicists (Online Cambridge) by
A good working knowledge of fluid mechanics and plasma physics is essential for the modern astrophysicist. This graduate textbook provides a clear, pedagogical introduction to these core subjects. Assuming an undergraduate background in physics, this book develops fluid mechanics and plasma physics from first principles. This book is unique because it presents neutral fluids and plasmas in a unified scheme, clearly indicating both their similarities and their differences. Also, both the macroscopic (continuum) and microscopic (particle) theories are developed, establishing the connections between them. Throughout, key examples from astrophysics are used, though no previous knowledge of astronomy is assumed. Exercises are included at the end of chapters to test the reader's understanding. This textbook is aimed primarily at astrophysics graduate students. It will also be of interest to advanced students in physics and applied mathematics seeking a unified view of fluid mechanics and plasma physics, encompassing both the microscopic and macroscopic theories.
Stellar Evolution Physics: Volume 1: Physical Processes in Stellar Interiors (Online, Cambridge) by
This text describes the microscopic physics operating in stars and demonstrates how stars respond from formation, through hydrogen-burning phases, up to the onset of helium burning. Intended for beginning graduate students and senior undergraduates with a solid background in physics, it illustrates the intricate interplay between the microscopic physical processes and the stars' macroscopic responses. The volume starts with the gravitationally contracting phase which carries the star from formation to the core hydrogen-burning main sequence, through the main sequence phase, through shell hydrogen-burning phases as a red giant, up to the onset of core helium burning. Particular emphasis is placed on describing the gravothermal responses of stars to nuclear transformations in the interior and energy loss from the surface, responses which express the very essence of stellar evolution. The volume is replete with many illustrations and detailed numerical solutions to prepare the reader to program and calculate evolutionary models.
Stellar Evolution Physics Volume 2: Advanced Evolution of Single Stars (Online, Cambridge) by
This volume explains the microscopic physics operating in stars in advanced stages of their evolution and describes with many numerical examples and illustrations how they respond to this microphysics. Models of low and intermediate mass are evolved through the core helium-burning phase, the asymptotic giant branch phase (alternating shell hydrogen and helium burning) and through the final cooling white dwarf phase. A massive model is carried from the core helium-burning phase through core and shell carbon-burning phases. Gravothermal responses to nuclear reaction-induced transformations and energy loss from the surface are described in detail. Written for senior graduate students and researchers who have mastered the principles of stellar evolution, as developed in the first volume of Stellar Evolution Physics, sufficient attention is paid to how numerical solutions are obtained to enable the reader to engage in model construction on a professional level.
Stellar Evolution and Its Relations to Geological Time (Online, Cambridge) by
James Croll (1821-90) was self-educated, but on gaining a post at the Glagow Andersonian Museum had the time to explore his academic interests. Despite his lack of formal training, he quickly became a leading light of the Scottish Royal Geological Society. Using physics, mathematics, geology and geography he explored the pressing scientific questions of the time. In this, his final book, published in 1889, Croll divides his focus between 'the probable origin of meteorites, comets and nebulae', the age of the sun and the impact of the pre-nebular condition of the universe on star evolution. Using both proven facts and theories, Croll explores the ideas and hypotheses then current, frequently crediting colleagues for their work, and building on it. Croll, who from humble beginnings became a Fellow of The Royal Society and of St Andrew's University, writes in a style which makes his works accessible to a lay readership.
Challenges in Stellar Pulsation (Online, ProQuest BookCentral) by
Ever since some stars were found to pulsate in the early 20th century, stellar pulsation has been a major topic in astronomy and astrophysics. The huge amount of data recently available from observational surveys, new discoveries from space missions and studies of pulsating stars in low-metallicity environments have opened new perspectives and challenges. Nevertheless, progress in finding the holy grail of stellar pulsation OCo the use of pulsation to study stellar interiors (asteroseismology) OCo has been slow. The realization that a problem exists with the current stellar opacities is a major setback. CURRENT CHALLENGES IN STELLAR PULSATION describes the search for solutions to these problems over the last few years. It summarizes recent research in all fields of stellar pulsation, providing valuable guidelines to both students and researchers in the field."
How Einstein Created Relativity Out of Physics and Astronomy (Online, SpringerLink) by
This book tracks the history of the theory of relativity through Einstein's life, with in-depth studies of its background as built upon by ideas from earlier scientists. The focus points of Einstein's theory of relativity include its development throughout his life; the origins of his ideas and his indebtedness to the earlier works of Galileo, Newton, Faraday, Mach and others; the application of the theory to the birth of modern cosmology; and his quest for a unified field theory. Treading a fine line between the popular and technical (but not shying away from the occasional equation), this book explains the entire range of relativity and weaves an up-to-date biography of Einstein throughout. The result is an explanation of the world of relativity, based on an extensive journey into earlier physics and a simultaneous voyage into the mind of Einstein, written for the curious and intelligent reader.
Lectures on Particle Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology (Online, SpringerLink) by
This volume gathers the content of the courses held at the Third IDPASC School, which took place in San Martiño Pinario, Hospederia and Seminario Maior, in the city of Santiago de Compostela, Galiza, Spain, from January 21st to February 2nd, 2013. This school is the annual joint program of the International Doctorate Network in Particle Physics, Astrophysics, and Cosmology (IDPASC). The purpose of the school series is to present doctoral students from different universities and laboratories in Europe and beyond with a broad range of the latest results and current state of the art in the fields of Particle Physics, Astrophysics, and Cosmology, and to further introduce them to both the questions now posed by the potentials of physics and to challenges connected with current and future experiments - in particular, with the newly available energy ranges. Following these guidelines, the content of this third edition of the IDPASC School was jointly planned by the Academic Council and by the network's International Committee, whose members ensure every year its timely formulation, keeping up with the constant evolution of these fields. The program covers a balanced range of the latest developments in these fields worldwide, with courses offered by internationally acknowledged physicists on the Basic Features of Hadronic Processes, Quantum Chromodynamics, Physics and Technology of ALICE, LHCb Physics-Parity Violation, the Higgs System in and beyond the Standard Model, Higgs Searches at the LHC, Theory and Experiments with Cosmic Rays, Numerical Methods and Data Analysis in Particle Physics, Theoretical Cosmology, and AdS/CFT Correspondence. Most of these courses were complemented by practical and discussion sessions.
Terahertz Astronomy (Online, CRCNETBase) by
A Powerful Window into Cosmic Evolution Terahertz (THz) observations of interstellar atoms, molecules, and dust serve as powerful probes of the conditions within the interstellar medium that permeates our galaxy, providing insights into the origins of stars, planets, galaxies, and the Universe. Taking a cross-disciplinary approach to the subject, Terahertz Astronomyexplores THz astrophysics and the technologies that make this rapidly evolving field possible. The first four chapters of the book discuss the origin and interpretation of THz light in astrophysical sources. The remaining five chapters present an overview of the technologies used to collect and detect THz light. Every chapter contains worked-out examples and exercises. The author explains each topic as intuitively as possible and includes the equations needed for real-life astrophysical applications. In just a few years, the number of active THz researchers has substantially grown due to increased interest in terrestrial remote sensing at THz frequencies. This book provides researchers with both the background science and technology to interpret THz observations and design, build, and deploy THz astronomical instrumentation.
Perspectives of LHC Physics (Online, EbscoHost) by
The Large Hadron Collider (LHC), located at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland, is the world's largest and highest energy and highest intensity particle accelerator. Here is a timely book with several perspectives on the hoped-for discoveries from the LHC.This book provides an overview on the techniques that will be crucial for finding new physics at the LHC, as well as perspectives on the importance and implications of the discoveries. Among the accomplished contributors to this book are leaders and visionaries in the field of particle physics beyond the Standard Model, including two Nobel Laureates (Steven Weinberg and Frank Wilczek), and presumably some future Nobel Laureates, plus top younger theorists and experimenters. With its blend of popular and technical contents, the book will have wide appeal, not only to physical scientists but also to those in related fields.