Handbook of Food Proteins by
Traditionally a source of nutrition, proteins are also added to foods for their ability to form gels and stabilise emulsions, among other properties. The range of specialised protein ingredients used in foods is increasing. Handbook of food proteins provides an authoritative overview of the characteristics, functionalities and applications of different proteins of importance to the food industry in one convenient volume. The introductory chapter provides an overview of proteins and their uses in foods. The following chapters each focus on a particular protein ingredient or group of ingredients covering their origins, production, properties and applications. The proteins discussed are caseins, whey proteins, gelatin and other meat-derived protein ingredients, seafood proteins, egg proteins, soy proteins, pea and other legume proteins, mycoprotein, wheat gluten, canola and other oilseed proteins, algal proteins and potato protein. A chapter on texturised vegetable proteins completes the volume. Innovative products and potential methods for improving nutrition and diet using these proteins are described. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors Handbook of food proteins is an invaluable reference tool for professionals using food protein ingredients for both food and other applications.
Proteins: biochemistry and biotechnology by
Proteins Biochemistry and Biotechnology 2e is a definitive source of information for all those interested in protein science, and particularly the commercial production and isolation of specific proteins, and their subsequent utilization for applied purposes in industry and medicine. Fully updated throughout withnbsp; new or fundamentally revised sectionsnbsp; on proteomics as, bioinformatics, protein glycosylation andnbsp; engineering,nbsp; well as sections detailing advances in upstream processing andnbsp; newer proteinnbsp; applications such as enzyme-based biofuel productionnbsp; this new edition has an increased focus on biochemistry to ensure the balance between biochemisty and biotechnology, enhanced with numerous case studies. This second edition is an invaluable text for undergraduates of biochemistry and biotechnology but will also be relevant to students of microbiology, molecular biology, bioinformatics and any branch of the biomedical sciences who require a broad overview of the various medical, diagnostic and industrial uses of proteins. * Provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of protein biochemisty and protein biotechnology * Includes numerous case studies * Increased focus on protein biochemistry to ensure balance between biochemisty and biotechnology * Includes new section focusing on proteomics as well as sections detailing protein function and enzyme-based biofuel production "With the potential of a standard reference source on the topic, any molecular biotechnologist will profit greatly from having this excellent book. " (Engineering in Life Sciences, 2004; Vol 5; No. 5) "Few texts would be considered competitors, and none compare favorably." (Biochemistry and Molecular Education, July/August 2002) "...The book is well written, making it informative and easy to read..." (The Biochemist, June 2002)
Proteins in Food Processing (Online Science Direct) by
Proteins in Food Processing, Second Edition, reviews how proteins may be used to enhance the nutritional, textural and other qualities of food products. After two introductory chapters, the book discusses sources of proteins, examining the caseins, whey, muscle and soy proteins, and proteins from oil-producing plants, cereals and seaweed. Part Two illustrates the analysis and modification of proteins, with chapters on testing protein functionality, modeling protein behavior, extracting and purifying proteins and reducing their allergenicity. A final group of chapters delves into the functional value of proteins and how they are used as additives in foods.