Aggregators eBook Collections:
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
The CRC/Taylor & Francis eBook Collection on Biotechnology & Food Technology allows libraries to access expert guidance on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology. This collection offers information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies. This e-library comes complete with new edition of Fenaroli’s Handbook of Food Additives.
Subject Areas (click on the links to view the book titles)
Schaum's Outline Microbiology by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
Schaum's Outline of Biology (Online, AccessEngineering) by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 850 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed videos featuring Biology instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum'sto help them succeed in the classroom and on exams.Schaum's is the key to faster learning and highergrades in every subject. Each Outline presents all theessential course information in an easy-to-follow,topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds ofexamples, solved problems, and practice exercises totest your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Hundreds of examples with explanations ofbiology concepts Exercises to help you test your mastery of biology Coverage of both biochemical and molecular approaches to biology and an understanding of life in terms of the characteristics of DNA, RNA, and protein macromolecules Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time and get your best test scores!
Schaum's Outline of Biochemistry, Third Edition Online by 
Balsamic Vinegars: Tradition, Technology, Trade (Online, Springer) by
This book offers a clear description of all the balsamic vinegars and/or similar products produced in the world, their differences in composition, quality and use. This encompasses all the steps for the production of Traditional Balsamic Vinegar: grape composition, crushing, concentration of the must, alcoholic and acetic fermentation, ageing, sensorial properties and quality of the final product. This book covers extensively all the balsamic vinegars, especially the industrial ones that have a really large market and diffusion.
Vinegars of the World (Online, SpringerLink) by
Vinegars can be considered as acidic products of special importance for the enri- ment of our diet, and resulting from the desired or controlled oxidation of ethanol containing (liquid) substrates. The traditional use and integration of vinegars in numerous cultures can be traced back to ancient times. In fact, the cultural heritage of virtually every civilization includes one or more vinegars made by the souring action (of micro-organisms) following alcoholic fermentation. It has been do- mented that the Egyptians, Sumerians and Babylonians had experience and tech- cal knowledge in making vinegar from barley and any kind of fruit. Vinegar was very popular both in ancient Greece and Rome, where it was used in food prepa- tions and as remedy against a great number of diseases. In Asia, the first records about vinegar date back to the Zhou Dynasty (1027-221 BC) and probably China's ancient rice wines may have originally been derived from fruit, for which (malted) rice was substituted later. The historical and geographical success of vinegars is mainly due to the low technology required for their production, and to the fact that several kinds of raw materials rich in sugars may easily be processed to give vinegar. In addition, vi- gars are well-known and accepted as safe and stable commodities that can be c- sumed as beverages, health drinks or added to food as preservatives or as flavo- ing agents.
Organic Fruit Growing (p241 Production of vinegar) (Online, ProQuest eBook Central) by
Descriptions of fruit varieties suitable for organic production Plant protection, pests and diseases and how they can be countered in organic systems Includes tables, diagrams graphs and photographsThere is great interest in organic horticulture and this title is a timely and much needed addition for practical, science-based guidance. It is a translation of a volume which has been very well received in German and is the product of collaboration between authors in Austria, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Switzerland. The contents include the basics of organic fruit growing, but also cover orchard construction, cultivation, protection and the commercialization of the organic products.
Green Composites from Natural Resources (Online,Taylor & Francis)) by
Global awareness of environmental issues has resulted in the emergence of economically and environmentally friendly bio-based materials free from the traditional side effects of synthetics. This book delivers an overview of the advancements made in the development of natural biorenewable resources-based materials, including processing methods and potential applications in green composites. Biorenewable polymers are a special class of natural material found in nature, such as natural fibers, wheat straw, rice husk, and saw dust. In addition to offering renewable feedstocks, natural biorenewable materials are compostable, recyclable, edible, and more energy efficient to process than plastic. Green Composites from Natural Resources covers various kinds of cellulosic biofibers, such as: hemp fibers jute saccaharum cilliare fibers pine needles grewia optiva fibers sisal fibers eulaliopsis binata flax fibers coconut fibers eulaliopsis binata baggase fibers rice husk saw dust wood flour straw With scopes for the utilization of natural resources-based materials as potential replacements for traditional petroleum feedstocks on the rise, more scientists and researchers are exploring new composite materials based on biorenewable resources. This book provides information on more eco-friendly and sustainable alternatives to synthetic polymers and discusses the present state and growing utility of green materials from natural resources.
