Find Journal Articles - Humanities - Politics and International Relations

Multidisciplinary Databases

For access to all UJ Library databases, go to:
UJ Databases

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES:

Al Manhal (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window The leading Arabic electronic information provider of Arabic full text searchable databases of scholarly and scientific publications from the Middle East, Africa and Asia, including eBooks, eJournals, eTheses, intelligence reports and conference proceedings.
Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers humanities, social sciences and international law Coverage: varies per collection Full text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references. Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Emerald (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window On campus access only Global research with impact on business, society, public policy and education. Journal articles and e-books. Coverage: 1898 to the present Full text to all UJ subscribed journals and e-books collections e.g.: Business management & Economics E-Books Series Access to four bibliographic databases (abstracts available) Computer & Communications Security Abstracts Computer Abstracts International Database Current Awareness Abstracts - Library and Information Management International Civil Engineering Abstracts
Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Physical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects Coverage: 1980 to the present Full text
GlobalData (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
IEEE eLearning Library This link opens in a new window Courses in the following categories: Aerospace, Bioengineering, Communications, Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics, English for Engineering, Computing, Career development.”
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
Palgrave MacMillan Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window This is a publisher’s database with access to more than 70 peer-reviewed journals published by the group Current year of content (e.g. 2016) plus a 4 year rolling archive Full Text
Project MUSE (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Coverage: varies (earliest date 1995) – current. Full Text
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas. Format: Full text Coverage varies according to content
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Sage Research Methods online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window SRMO allows researchers to explore various research methods. Links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools e.g.: · Methods maps (a visual search tool) · SMRO Lists (data analysis, research design, etc.) · Web resources (Statistical software, research ethics, etc.) Full text Try the mobile version
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Databases/ Articles

Why Cant I Google ?

Newspaper Databases

Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Global news which includes the following collections: World,South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996), FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa, African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)Coverage: Varied until the present dayFull Text
African Newspapers, 1800+ (Readex) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 60 searchable African newspapers, features English and other language titles and covers the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples from 1800+. Some of the SA newspapers included are: Sunday Times-1997- Business day- 1997- Sowetan-2006- Financial Mail-1997- Daily dispatch - 2004- The Herald- 2002- The Times- (2007-2017) Weekend Post- 2002
Newspaper Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Cover-to-cover full text of U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts Mostly full text
PressReader (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window The world’s largest online newspaper website, providing access to over 2 200 international, national and regional newspapers and magazines from 97 countries in 54 languages in full colour, full page format. Coverage: Current news (up to 90 days back issues available) Full text.
SA Media (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards. Full text
Regional Business News (USA) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Subject Specific Database

Political Science Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Includes Political Risk Yearbook. Coverage: 1920 to the present Full text
World Politics Review (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Politics, International relations
Political Risk Yearbook (Country Reports) See - Business Source Complete - Political Science Complete for annually updated country reports Full text
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas. Format: Full text Coverage varies according to content
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles

African Databases

African Journal Archive (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
African Research Online (via Brill Online Reference Works) This link opens in a new window Includes African Studies Companion Online and African Yearbook Online. Coverage: African Yearbook - 2004 to the present day. Full Text
SABINET (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Exclusively contains South African and African publications or articles. Format: Full text
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SAIRR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Institute of Race Relations Research, statistical data, policy critiques, forecasts and risk analysis on South Africa’s household issues Includes the annual South African Survey Full text
SA Media (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards. Full text

Humanities - Politics and International Relations: Find Journal Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Databases/ Articles

Why Cant I Google ?

Newspaper Databases

Subject Specific Database

African Databases

Google Scholar