A library database is an online searchable collection of information. Libraries buy subscriptions to databases so students can find useful and interesting information. Library databases contain lots of information ranging from scholarly peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, and conference papers.
Go to the Library Homepage.
Databases for Engineering Management
EasyData Quantec - (Register your own Username and Password for access)
RSA Economic Analysis (including Consumer Vulnerability Index (CVI) ; RSA Economic Indicators ( SARB Monthly Release of Selected Data; International Economic Indicators (IMF - World Economic Outlook (WEO)
HeinOnline - International Law Research Collection
JutaStat Online - Law Reports; Environmental Law; Road Traffic & Road Transport; Governance, Risk and Compliance; Administrative Law; Local Govt.
Press Display - Largest online newspaper website with access to over 2 200 regional, national and international newspapers from 97 countries in 54 languages.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development) - Development Studies; Economics and Econometrics; Sociology; Factbooks; Statistical Databases & MS Excel tables focusing on Economic and Social Issues
Proquest PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) - Coverage includes Public Management and Governance; Social Policies and International Relations
Sabinet Legal - African Electronic Journals (SA ePublications); Bill Tracker; Government Gazettes; Municipal By-laws; Monitoring Newsletter; Policy Documents; Provincial Gazettes; Provincial Legislation (Provincial NetLaw); Retrospective Government Gazettes; Retrospective Provincial Gazettes; Sabinet Labour;South African Legislation (NetLaw)
SAIRR South African Institute of Race Relations -South Africa Survey ( Demographics, Economy, Public Finance, Employment, Business and Labour, Education, Health and Social Security, Living Conditions, Crime and Security; Politics and Governance)
Africa Survey - As above plus Top Countries for Human Development; Rule of Law, Accountability; Democracy; Failed States Index.
Sabinet SA Media - Multi disciplinary South African newspaper article database.
South Africa Yearbook - A comprehensive account of the programmes and policies of the South African government and the current state of the nation. This is the official publication on the Republic of South Africa - updated annually. Coverage includes the Government system; Rural Development; Economy; Human Settlements; Water; Health; Transport and the Environment.
World Bank E-Library - World Development Indicators; Agriculture; Human Settlements; Conflict and Development; Education; Energy; Environment; Governance; Health; Poverty Reduction; Rural Development; Transport; Urban Development; Water Supply and Sanitation; World Bank Documents.
Ebscohost - a multi-disciplinary databases covering Development Information on Africa; Family and Society Studies; Sustainability Studies( Greenfile); Political Science; Women's studies.
Emerald - a multi-disciplinary database with a special focus on Management. Peer reviewed articles on Politics; Management; Urban Studies coverage from 1879 - present
Ice Publishing - database covering mainly the built environment. Subject include Building Design (non-structural); Environment; Municipal - Community, Urban & Rural; Transportation; Waste Management; Water and Wastewater Management
Jstor - a multi - disciplinary archival database (the latest articles are not available) with coverage including Humanities; Sociology and Business. Particularly useful in finding the established theories on a subject.
SAePublications - South African Research Coverage from 1990 - Present
Sage Journals Online - Coverage on Engineering and Technology; Politics; Education; Management; Town and Regional Planning from 1879 - Present.
ScienceDirect - Coverage on Environmental Science; Business; Management; Economics; Econometrics; Urban Planning; Social Sciences; Arts and Humanities with Full-text available from 1995
Springerlink - Anthropology and Development studies; Architecture ; Business studies and Entrepreneurship; Economics and Econometrics; Engineering and Technology; Environmental and Energy science; Geography; Health; Law; Management; Politics; Public management and Governance; Sociology; Statistics
Taylor & Francis Online - Coverage on Area Studies; Built Environment; Development Studies; Economic and Econometrics; Finance , Business and Industry; Engineering & Technology; Environmental Studies and Management; Geography; Health and Social Care; Humanities; Law; Museum & Heritage Studies; Physical Sciences; Politics and International Relations and Urban Studies.
NEXUS - South African research projects registered with the NRF, including theses and dissertations (current and completed)
Coverage: 1919 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses -Theses & Dissertations worldwide. Coverage: From 1637 to the present. Full Text
SAGE Research Method Online- SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is designed to allow researchers to explore various research methods
Scopus - Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Engineering Village - Provides access to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects.
ISI - Web of Science - Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.