Skip to Main Content

CBE - College of Business and Economics Main Guide: MAPS: Advanced information literacy

Welcome to the College of Business and Economics! This guide will introduce you to valuable library information sources related to the 6 Schools within the College , as well as services & facilities offered to undergraduate & postgraduate students, staff

Searching the Databases

University of Johannesburg Library proudly offers a brand new information accessing tool called LEAN Library.

Lean Library is a Library Access browser plug-in that allows you access to academic articles, books and other electronic resources, licensed by the UJ Library. If you start your search on Google or Google Scholar, the plugin will automatically link you to the full-text library resources. You will be prompted to sign in with your UJ credentials, when you reach an e-resource the library has access to.

Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get the full-text content.

Seamless Access:

  • Remote access to the UJ library Electronic Resources
  • Recognises the UJ library e-resources and then prompts you to authenticate

One login per browser session:

  • Once UJ authenticated, patrons can go about their research accessing the e-resources
  • Provides alternative legal routes to full-text articles and eBooks when you hit barriers

Access to UJ Subject LibGuides per Faculty

Access to A-to-Z Databases   

The Purpose of Lean Library

  • Simplifies access to subscribed e-resources, wherever your researchers are.
  • Provides alternative legal routes to discover full-text articles and eBooks when patrons hit barriers

In order to enjoy the functionalities of Lean library, please download the Lean Library browser extension first.

Faculty checklist

Gain easier access to library resources and assistance wherever you are:

  • Let Lean Library work for you and your students
  • Download the browser plug-in on your laptop or computer
  • After downloading, select your institution (University of Johannesburg) and start researching.

Topic: Unemployment in South Africa

Search Operators (called Boolean Operators) allow you to fine-tune your search by using the operators AND, OR, and NOT to combine search terms to broaden or narrow your search. You should always type these operators in capital letters.

  • AND will combine the terms so that both or all terms must be in the results. This is a narrowing technique that makes your search more specific.
  • OR will combine the terms so that one or other (or both or all) of the terms will be in the results. This is a broadening technique that gets more results.
  • NOT will exclude results that contain a particular term. This is a narrowing technique. It's not used very often because it's probably better to search for what you do want rather than for what you don't want.

    Venn Diagrams showing the 3 types of search operators - AND, OR, and NOT