Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Access Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOnline reference tool that provides easy access to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology. Combines the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
Access Science includes articles, research reviews, definitions, biographies, downloadable images, embeddable animations, videos and curriculum maps.
ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology
Coverage: 1948 to the present
ACM publications: Full text
Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
ACS Publications (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowon campus access only.
American Chemical Society Publications
APS Prola (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Physics Society Physical Review Online Archive
Full text coverage including archive from vol. 1 to present
ASCE (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAll disciplines of civil engineering
ASME Digital Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineering) Journals (26 titles)
Full Text coverage of journals from 2010 to the present
Bibliographic records of all ASME Digital Collection publications (journals, eBooks, conference proceedings)
Compendex (via Engineering Village) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most authoritative database of abstracted and indexed literature in engineering and the applied physical sciences. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engineering, Chemical Engineering.
Content: Includes over 3600 journals,100 conference proceedings and trade magazines indexed annually.
Engineering Village (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAccess to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects.
EV2 includes different information resources:
Compendex: Coverage: 1884 to the present; abstracts
Inspec: Coverage: 1896 to the present; abstracts
Referex: E-books and engineering reference material on:
Electrical Engineering and Electronics
Mechanical Engineering and Materials
Coverage: 1987 to the present; full text
Espacenet: (Open access) Coverage: 1996 to the present; full text patents.
IHS Standards: (Open access) Bibliographic citations of technical standards.
GeoScience World (GSW) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
ICE Virtual Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowHosts content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE). UJ has full-text access to the following:
* Journals: all current ICE Journals and Proceedings
* Archives: ICE Proceedings, Geotechnique, Magazine of Concrete Research
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK).
UJ’s subscription includes access to:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines
IEEE conference proceedings
IET journals
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
IOPScience (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIOPscience is a platform for IOP-hosted journal content and covers scientific, technical and medical content.
Archive and current journals full text
Embargoes on some journals: 1-2 years
Bibliographic with abstracts
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
SciFinder: CAS (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOpenAthens (Previously known as Chemical Abstracts, Refer to “C” for CAS SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus)
First time users please register here. This will provide you with the Username and Password required to log in.
Registration problems? Contact Pavlinka Kovatcheva: 011 559-2621
SciVal (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreate logins using your UJ EMAIL OR use Sciencedirect or Scopus personal logins
Multidisciplinary Databases
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOver 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Emerald (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOn campus access only
Global research with impact on business, society, public policy and education.
Journal articles and e-books. Coverage: 1898 to the present
Full text to all UJ subscribed journals and e-books collections e.g.:
Business management & Economics
E-Books Series
Access to four bibliographic databases (abstracts available)
Computer & Communications Security Abstracts
Computer Abstracts International Database
Current Awareness Abstracts - Library and Information Management
International Civil Engineering Abstracts
JSTOR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens)This link opens in a new windowOxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences
Coverage: 1996+
Full Text
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas.
Format: Full text
Coverage varies according to content
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas.
Coverage: 1879 to present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Sage Research Methods online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSRMO allows researchers to explore various research methods. Links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools e.g.:
· Methods maps (a visual search tool)
· SMRO Lists (data analysis, research design, etc.)
· Web resources (Statistical software, research ethics, etc.)
Full text
Try the mobile version
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
EbscoHost Databases relevant to Engineering
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
GreenFILE (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Coverage: Varies according to title
Format: Abstracts and full text
INSPEC (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
Waters & Oceans Worldwide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowDatabases on all facets of international water research. Includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment.
Coverage: 1970+
Bibliographic with abstracts
Partly Full text, two year embargo for some journal titles
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations)
Coverage: Varies according to database product
Full text (except for Law and Government)
News Databases
Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens)This link opens in a new windowGlobal news which includes the following collections: World,South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996), FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa, African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)Coverage: Varied until the present dayFull Text
African Newspapers, 1800+ (Readex) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 60 searchable African newspapers, features English and other language titles and covers the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples from 1800+. Some of the SA newspapers included are:
Sunday Times-1997-
Business day- 1997-
Sowetan-2006-
Financial Mail-1997-
Daily dispatch - 2004-
The Herald- 2002-
The Times- (2007-2017)
Weekend Post- 2002
Newspaper Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover full text of U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts
Mostly full text
PressReader (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest online newspaper website, providing access to over 2 200 international, national and regional newspapers and magazines from 97 countries in 54 languages in full colour, full page format.
Coverage: Current news (up to 90 days back issues available)
Full text.
