NEXUS - This database provides information on approximately 170 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD). The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles for projects not in English. You can do your search here
Database of Data Resources in Africa- The aim of this Database is to identify organisations that produce data, in or about Africa, of scientific and scholarly interest to facilitate access to reliable data and data sources through the Internet; and to provide valuable information to the global scientific community, with particular focus on promoting applications of these data resources in Africa and other developing countries.
Sage Research Methods Online - SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers with their research projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Access is provided by UJ, it requires database PIN.
Proquest Theses & Dissertations - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Access is provided by UJ - it requires a login PIN.
Scopus - Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Engineering Village - provides access to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects.
ISI Web of Science - Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations - OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,167,653 theses and dissertations
Sparrho, is a service that provides you with a daily digest of information from lots of databases - of published articles, patents, conference papers, posters, and video on the topics that interest you.With over 55 million scientific sources finding the right information for you is no longer a daunting task. Sparrho keeps you up to date with the latest in your field and helps you discover great science. Linear keyword search narrows what you see, Sparrho works to broaden your horizons and help you find things you didn’t even realise you were looking for.
Zotero- Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.