LibGuides: FEBE- Mining &amp; Mine Surveying: Databases & Finding Articles

What is a database?

Databases are collections of references to journal articles from many journals, chapters in books, reviews, conference proceedings,reports & in some cases, dissertations & theses.

Online databases are most useful for finding articles when you do not know in which journals articles are published.

In many cases databases include the full text of articles.

How do I access a database?

Go to the Library Homepage.

Under Library Resources, click on Databases
Select the required database from the list by scrolling down to the relevant title, or
Click on the arrow under Choose Subject
Click on the relevant database from the list that appears.
Some databases are multidisciplinary and some are subject specific.
Some databases only have bibliographic information, whilst others have a summary of the article.
Full text databases provide access to the article in HTML or PDF format.
Select the PDF format because it is easier to quote, as it has the page numbers for the articles.

Databases for Mining

Access Engineering (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window E-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc. Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
INSPEC (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
GEORef (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Includes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK). UJ’s subscription includes access to: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines IEEE conference proceedings IET journals IET conference proceedings IEEE published standards IEEE Standards Dictionary Online Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
ASTM (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering UJs subscription includes full text access to the following standard collections: Section 1: Iron & Steel Products (Vols. 01.01 - 01.08) Section 2: Metals Test Methods (Vols. 03.01 03.06) Coverage: dates vary by the publishing dates of the standards Active standards: Full text Redline, Historical and Withdrawn standards: Bibliographic and abstracts
Knovel (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Engineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems. Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes. Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.

Multidsciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
SABINET (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Exclusively contains South African and African publications or articles. Format: Full text
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles

Mining

University of Johannesburg is the only contact institution that provides formal tuition towards a formal National Diploma and Bachelor of Technology Degree in Mining Engineering programmes, these are carefully designed, uniquely career focused and aligned with mining industry and mining organization across South Africa.