Reference Sources - Law - LLM in Human Rights Law - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

On this page, you will find:

Guidance on where to find information on what Reference Sources are.
Information on the hard copy reference sources found in the UJ Law Library, such as the Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations by Raistrick.
Information on and links to reference sources that are contained on the databases.
Information on and a link to the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations website.
Links to our Reputable Links and Research Support pages.
Information on what will soon be added to this LibGuide (Research Support Guide).

What are Reference Sources?

Please read through the documents uploaded on the Research Support tab to find out.

Reputable Links

Reputable Internet links to websites that may possibility contain Reference Sources can be found on the Reputable Links tab.

Research Support

Find search guides, training videos and tutorials to assist you with finding Reference Sources and conducting research with them on the Research Support tab.

Coming Soon!

Guidelines on Finding and Using Reference Sources.

Electronic reference works for Law available on UJ databases

Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.

Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text

Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Jowitt’s Dictionary of English Law

Stroud’s Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases

Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Black's Law Dictionary available

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
"This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law."