This page is intended for students and researchers studying public international law at the University of Johannesburg
Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for public international law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.
Please click on the link to see the entry in the UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink)
Legal Databases:
This database includes in-depth publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and more.
The database includes access to the reprint of The Harvard Research in International Law and Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal. It also includes links to law review articles written by the contributors to the Harvard Research in International Law.
This database includes information dating back to 1690 on the history of international law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!
IFLP is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in more than 800 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. A NEW feature is now available called IFLP Alerts, which allows individuals to tailor custom alerts delivered via email as a personalized supplement to the monthly IFLP issue.
The International Commission of Jurists promotes and protects human rights through the rule of law. Created in 1952, the ICJ aims to ensure the progressive development and effective implementation of international human rights and international humanitarian law. It also works to secure the realization of civil, cultural, economic, political, and social rights, as well as strives to safeguard the separation of powers and guarantee the independence of the judiciary and legal profession.
The International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions.
This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. It includes prominent collections such as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
This database contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series, and much more.
This database brings together works from Rohn, Dumont, Wiktor, and Martens to create the richest collection of world treaties ever available, spanning from 1648 to the present. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles chosen by our editors, and a bibliography of related publications.
Other useful international legal and multidiciplinary databases:
Legal Databases:
Multidisciplinary Databases
Prescribed material for the LLM Course in International Law available at the Law Information Desk. Some material also available in electronic format.