LibGuides: CBE -Tourism and Hospitality Guide: Finding Journal Articles

What is a Database?

Databases are collections of references to journal articles from many journals, chapters in books, reviews, conference proceedings,reports & in some cases, dissertations & theses.

Online databases are most useful for finding articles when you do not know in which journals articles are published.

In many cases databases include the full text of articles.

Explore UJ databases

South African Content

Africa-Wide Information

African Journal Archive

Easy Data (Password required)

INET BFA

Sabinet Online

SA Media (Sabinet Online)

SA ePublications

SABS

SA Institute of Race Relations

Who Owns Whom

Useful links

Subject Specific Databases

Hospitality & Tourism Complete (OpenAthens) Tourism and hospitality Coverage: 1965 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text with some embargoes for the current two yearsAvailable on HTML
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas, with good coverage of Communication, Education, Management, Material science, Nursing, Politics, Psychology, Sociology and Urban studies Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text – only to UJ journal subscriptions
SpringerLink SpringerLink’s complete online collection covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJ’s journal subscription includes the: · Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 Full text · Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present Full text · SpringerOpen Collection Full text access journals · Featured Library Databases Chinese Library of Science- Bibliographic Russian Library of Science- Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocol
Emerald (OpenAthens)
ScienceDirect Please note: Internet Explorer 8 is not supported on ScienceDirect OpenAthens.
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Over 460 societies and institutions are associated to Taylor & Francis. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles