Teacher Reference Centre (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. It covers the fields of Assessment, Continuing Education, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Bibliographic and Abstracts.
Education Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSpans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Databases included in Education Source are:
- Education Abstracts (HW Wilson)
- Education Index and Index Retrospective (HW Wilson)
- Education Full Text (HW Wilson)
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPhysical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects
Coverage: 1980 to the present
Full text
JSTOR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Palgrave MacMillan Journals Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowThis is a publisher’s database with access to more than 70 peer-reviewed journals published by the group
Current year of content (e.g. 2016) plus a 4 year rolling archive
Full Text
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas.
Coverage: 1879 to present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)Physical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects
Coverage: 1980 to the present
Full text
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
SABINET Open Access Journal CollectionThis link opens in a new windowSA and African Open Access Journals. Includes a listing of journals accredited by the DOE
