Journals - Law - Faculty LibGuide - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

Journal Lists

South African Law Journals available in print and electronic 2023
This document will tell you where to find articles in full text (in print and in electronic format) .
South African Law Journals - Citations and Abbreviations

Comprehensive Law Journal Title List 2022
Compiled and regularly updated by the law library staff

Journal Search Tools

A - Z (Ebsco)
A complete Web-based tool for organizing and providing links to all of UJ Library’s e-resources, including e-journals, titles in full-text databases and e-journal packages, and e-books.
UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink)
To find journal titles in hard copy and available full text on the databases

South African Database Links

Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.

International Database links (Containing South African and International Journal Titles)

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

International Legal Database links (with International Journal Titles)

Kluwer Law Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals Coverage: From Vol. 1 Full Text
Legal Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, including book reviews and case citations Coverage: Vol. 1 to the present Full text
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Formerly known as LexisNexis UK. Lexis+ UK is an important source of full text legal information. It provides access to UK, EU, US, and international case law, legislation, legal journals, as well as UK national and regional newspapers. • Coverage varies according to title. • Full text.
SCC Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Indian case law, statutory law, secondary material, foreign and international material Coverage: varies according to title Full Text
Westlaw International (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International law, Ebooks Books, Treaties, Journal articles, Case Law and Legislation Coverage: Varies according to title Partly full text
Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases with some legal content

Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers humanities, social sciences and international law Coverage: varies per collection Full text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window See the following databases on EBSCOHost which might be of interest: Academic Search Ultimate Africa-Wide Information Business Source Ultimate Family & Society Studies Worldwide Women's Studies International

JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Bibliographic Databases (Law)

Index to Foreign Legal Publications (IFLP)

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (ILP)

Help Links:

IFLP
ILP

Database access: valid PIN

A Pin (6 characters or longer and apha-numeric) needs to be created for access to the databases:

OR the databases can be accessed with a UJ student number and valid UJ email address:

Journals and Yearbooks

PRINT FORMAT

Unbound copies of the South African law journals are available at the law information desk (level 6)
Unbound copies of the international and foreign law journals are kept on the display shelf on level 6
All bound copies of journals (South African and International) are arranged in alphabetical order according to the title at shelf code R6

Titles of Interest to LLM's in the Depatment of Mercantile Law:

PRINT FORMAT

· Law journal titles in your field of study that can be found in the Law Library are:

Titles in bold are currently subscribed to.
Banking & finance law review	0832-8722	R6 BANK	9 (1993/94)-	BFLR
Banking law journal	0005-5506	R6 BANK	92 ( 1975)-	BLJ
Banking law update		R6 BANK	1 (2001)-
Betriebs-berater	0340-7918	R6 BETR	30 (1975)-	BB
Bond law review	1033-4505	R6 BOND	1 (1989)-	Bond LR
Bulletin / Bureau for Mercantile Law, University of Port Elizabeth = Bulletin / Buro vir Bedryfsreg, Universiteit van Port Elizabeth		R6 BULL	3 (1985)-	CLISB = HIB
Business law review	0143-6295	R6 BUSI	11 (1990)-	BLR
Business lawyer, the	0007-6899	R6 BUSI	25 (1969)-
Butterworths journal of international banking and financial law	0269-2694	R6 BUTT	1 (1986)-	JIBFL
Common market law review	0165-0750	R6 COMM	1 (1963)-	CML Rev
Company and securities law journal	0729-2775	R6 COMP	5 (1987)-	C&SLJ
Company lawyer	0144-1027	R6 COMP	1 (1980)-
Corporate report, the: facilitating business in South Africa	2222-3894	R6 CORP	1 (2011)-
European financial services law	1350-2018	R6 EURO	2 (1995) – 6 (1999)	EFSL
Financial services newsletter	1465-4865	R6 FINA	51 (2003) – 100 (2007)
Futures & derivatives law review	1352-1039	R6 FUTU	1 (1994) – 3 (1996)
International and comparative corporate law journal
International banking and financial law	0263-8185	R6 INTE	10 (1991)- 17 (1998)	IBFL
International banking law	0263-8185	R6 INTE	5 (1986) – 9 (1991)
International financial law review	0262-6969	R6 INTE	May 1982- . Series incomplete	IFLR
International insolvency review: journal of the International Association of Insolvency Practitioners	1180-0518	R6 INTE	4 (1995)- > e-available	Int Insolv Rev
International maritime and commercial law yearbook: a jurisdictional review of international maritime and commercial law		R6 INTE
International journal of disclosure and governance	1741-3591	R6 INTE	1 (2004)-	IJDG
International lawyer	0020-7810	R6 INTE	23 (1989)-
Journal of business law	0021-9460	R6 JOUR	1957 – 1965; 1968-	JBL
Journal of consumer policy	0342-5843	R6 JOUR	6 (1983)-	JCP
Journal of international banking law	0267-937X	R6 JOUR	1 (1986) – 18, 1 (2003)	JIBL
Journal of international banking law and regulation	0267-937X	R6 JOUR	18, 2 (2003)-	JIBLR
The journal of international banking regulation	1465-4830	R6 JOUR	4(2002)-	JIBR
Journal of private international law	1744-1048	R6 JOUR	1 (2005)-	Jour.P.I.L.
Journal of world investment & trade,the	1660-7112	R6 JOUR	1 (2000)-	JWIT
Journal of world trade	1011-6702	R6 JOUR	22 (1988)-	JWT
Juta’s business law: the quarterly law review for people in business	1021-7061	R6 JUTA	1 (1993)-2008	JBL
Lloyd’s maritime and commercial law quarterly		R6 LLOY		LMCLQ
Modern law review	0026-7961	R6 MODE	1 (1937)- . Missing 11,12 & 41	MLR
Nederlands internationaal privaatrecht: NIPR		R6 NEDE		NIPR
Ondernemingsrecht: de Naamlooze vennootschap, TVVS	1389-1456	R6 ONDE	1 (1999)-
Review of the Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG)		RFM REVI	(2004-2005)-
Revue de droit uniforme = Uniform law review	1124-3694	R6 UNIF	1973-1994/95; 1996-
SA tydskrif vir handelsreg = SA mercantile law journal	1015-0099	R6 SAME	1 (1989)-	SA Merc LJ
WM : Wirtschafts-, Wertpapier- und Bankrecht	0342-698X	R6 WMZE	29 (1975) - 30 (1976)
WM : Zeitschrift fur Wirtschafts- und Bankrecht	0342-6971	R6 WMZE	31 (1977)-	WM
Zeitschrift für das gesamte Handels-recht und Wirtschaftsrecht	0044-2437	R6 ZEIT	132 (1969)-	ZHR
Zeitschrift für Vertriebsrecht: ZVertriebsR	2193-5769	R6 ZEIT	1 (2012)-	ZVertriebsR

Law Journals for the respective modules available on Legal Databases: South African

Jutastat Online

LexisNexis

Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications)

Law Journals on Legal Databases for the respective modules: International with South African content

HeinOnline

Click on to find informantion on the particular module of interest:

Law Journals on Legal Databases for the respective modules: International

LexisNexis Academic

For a specific Law Review

The following Mercantile Law specific content is available:

From the homepage go to:

World Journals

South African law journals: reputable Internet links

African Law Review (ALR)
The African Law Review (ALR) is a quarterly journal designed to enrich our Jurisprudence, promote excellence and diversity of views.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals
SAFLII
Law Journals
more...less...
African Disability Rights Yearbook
African Human Rights Law Journal
De Jure Law Journal
De Rebus Law Journal
Potchefstroom Electronic Law Journal
SADC Law Journal
South Africa: Law, Democracy and Development Law Journal
Speculum Juris
Speculum Juris

International and Foreign law journals: reputable Internet links

WorldLII: Law Journals
The International Legal Scholarship Library aims to provide a comprehensive search facility for all academic law journals available via WorldLII and other Legal Information Institutes (LIIs) and the nearly 20,000 law journal articles and academic papers available through the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Currently, the search facility below allows searches over 45 law journals databases.

Law - Faculty LibGuide: Journals