Databases: DataSets & Journal Articles - CBE - School of Economics Guide

What is a database?

Databases are collections of references to journal articles from many journals, chapters in books, reviews, conference proceedings,reports & in some cases, dissertations & theses. Online databases are most useful for finding articles when you do not know in which journals articles are published. In many cases databases include the full text of articles.

What is Journal Article?

Academic (or scholarly) articles are articles that have been peer-reviewed before they are published. This means that experts in the field of study will review and approve the article before the journal will publish it.Source
A listing of the journals that the Library subscribes to can be found in the A-Z journal search

List of free & open access (OA) databases

RePEc: Research Papers in Economics RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 89 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it.
Google Scholar Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines

Search Techniques

Various search techniques

South African databases

Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SA Media (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards. Full text
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations) Coverage: Varies according to database product Full text (except for Law and Government)

Multidisciplinary Databases

Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Physical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects Coverage: 1980 to the present Full text

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Cambridge Journals
ScienceDirect
more...less...
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Subject areas covered: Physical Sciences & Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Humanities.

UJ has access to the following:
* Abstracts from 1823 to present
* Journals: Full text available from 1995 to present journal articles.
* Books & Reference works: selected titles
Taylor & Francis Online Journals

JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Based on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources: More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist). Coverage: 1923 - Present.
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols

Google Scholar Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines

MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window General reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images Coverage: 1975 to the present Abstracts Mostly full text
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content

Core CBE Databases for Accounting, Economics and Finance

ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology Coverage: 1948 to the present ACM publications: Full text Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Register your own Username and Password. South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data Coverage: 2000 to the present Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
EconLit (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Economics Coverage: 1969 to the present, 12 month embargo on some journal titles Partly full text
Emerald (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window On campus access only Global research with impact on business, society, public policy and education. Journal articles and e-books. Coverage: 1898 to the present Full text to all UJ subscribed journals and e-books collections e.g.: Business management & Economics E-Books Series Access to four bibliographic databases (abstracts available) Computer & Communications Security Abstracts Computer Abstracts International Database Current Awareness Abstracts - Library and Information Management International Civil Engineering Abstracts
Equity RT (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Extensive coverage of 122 000 stocks in more than 120 Stock Exchanges worldwide. Financials. Dividends. Estimates. Reports. News. Multiples. Peers. Full text. Comprehensive numeric data sets (All data sets are downloadable)
Euromonitor (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Gale Business Insights: Global (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GlobalData (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text
IRESS This link opens in a new window Username & Password required: Please contact the Infodesk: 011 559 2171 (Limited to 5 simultaneous users) South African company profiles, structures and organograms, incl. financial statements, ratios and models. Coverage varies according to research domain modules Full text
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) OpenAthens This link opens in a new window (Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) International content on Law, Accounting, Economics, Management, Journalism and Engineering. Full text access to more than 5,800 publications spanning Global News, Journals, Legal Materials, Company Data, Financials, Country Reports and general reference information. Coverage: Varies according to title
OECD Statistics (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development) statistics across multiple subject fields.
Osiris (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Limited to 5 simultaneous users. A fully integrated public company database. Financial information on 66,000 listed and major unlisted/delisted companies worldwide (42,000 are non-US companies). Full ownership data of companies included. Full Text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Based on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources: More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist). Coverage: 1923 - Present.
SAGE Business Cases (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Sage Business Cases curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Sage Research Methods online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window SRMO allows researchers to explore various research methods. Links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools e.g.: · Methods maps (a visual search tool) · SMRO Lists (data analysis, research design, etc.) · Web resources (Statistical software, research ethics, etc.) Full text Try the mobile version
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Statista (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics, Reports, Infographics, Services & Global Consumer Survey Coverage: Latest Format: Online Reports, Tables, Lists
Thomson Reuters Eikon This link opens in a new window
Username and Password required, Please contact the CBE Librarian, Madumella Mofokeng, on 011 559 1397, email mmofokeng@uj.ac.za
Reuters News, Global Pricing Data, Company Fundamentals, Unmatched Real-Time Research, Commodities data & Research, Datastream, Lipper Funds Data, Deals, & League Tables.
Full text - Comprehensive numeric data sets (All data sets are downloadable)
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

CBE - School of Economics Guide: Databases: DataSets & Journal Articles

UJoogle Search - one search finds all!