EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOrganisation for Economic Co-operation & Development.
Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues
Coverage: 1998 to the present
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
Energy Sustainability (Online; Science Direct) by Ibrahim DincerEnergy Sustainability is a subject with many dimensions that spans both production and utilization and how they are linked to sustainable development. More importantly, energy systems are designed, analyzed, assessed and evaluated in accordance to sustainable tools for more sustainable future. This book comprehensively covers these aspects, harmonizing them in a way that offers distinct perspectives for energy, the environment and sustainable development. In addition, it also covers concepts, systems, applications, illustrative examples and case studies that are presented to provide unique coverage for readers.
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Energy Efficiency in Buildings (Online; Science Direct) by Umberto Desideri (Editor); Francesco Asdrubali (Editor)Handbook of Energy Efficiency in Buildings: A Life Cycle Approach offers a comprehensive and in-depth coverage of the subject with a further focus on the Life Cycle. The editors, renowned academics, invited a diverse group of researchers to develop original chapters for the book and managed to well integrate all contributions in a consistent volume. Sections cover the role of the building sector on energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions, international technical standards, laws and regulations, building energy efficiency and zero energy consumption buildings, the life cycle assessment of buildings, from construction to decommissioning, and other timely topics. The multidisciplinary approach to the subject makes it valuable for researchers and industry based Civil, Construction, and Architectural Engineers. Researchers in related fields as built environment, energy and sustainability at an urban scale will also benefit from the books integrated perspective.
Environmental Impacts of Renewable Energy (Online, T & L) by Frank R. SpellmanRenewable Energy Has a Good Side and a Bad Side... Evaluate Both All energy sources affect the environment in which we live. While fossil fuels may essentially do more harm, renewable energy sources can also pose a threat to the environment. Allowing for the various renewable energy sources: solar, wind, hydro, biomass, and geothermal, Environmental Impacts of Renewable Energyexamines the environmental effects of all available renewable or alternative sources, as they increasingly play a large part in our energy supply, and provides a counterargument about the benefits of renewable energy. This book discusses both the merits and the physical, mechanical, electrical, and environmental limitations of renewable sources of energy. It discusses the pros and cons of renewable energy, addresses environmental issues and concerns, and determines ways to avoid or minimize these impacts. This text contains nine chapters reviewing in depth: Renewable energy impact on the environment Major renewable energy types Environmental health, safety, and ecological impacts Impact on tribal sacrosanct areas Environmental Impacts of Renewable Energycovers the adverse effects of major renewable energy sources. Environmental engineers working with renewable energy, environmental consultants/managers working with municipalities regarding environmental impact and land use, and undergraduate students taking related courses in environmental college programs can greatly benefit from this text.
Energy Efficiency in the Urban Environment (Online, T & F) by Heba Allah Essam E. Khalil; Essam E. KhalilEnergy Efficiency in the Urban Environmentis a study of energy crisis, urbanisation, and climate change, as well as a discussion of how to combat these global challenges. With a special focus on Egypt, this book addresses the macroscale of urbanism from the perspective of city dwellers' quality of life, and explores the microscale of buildings and the perspective of ensuring indoor air quality within the boundaries of energy efficiency. Offering an integrated view of energy systems and urban planning supported by extensive data, references, and case studies, this text: Examines the energy efficiency performance of cities following sustainable urbanism principles Investigates how informal areas in developing countries achieve sustainable development Presents energy-efficient urban planning as a tool for improving city energy performance Proposes the development of a common procedure for obtaining an energy performance certificate Calculates the energy performance of buildings, accounting for heating/cooling systems and other variables Energy Efficiency in the Urban Environment demonstrates the importance of implementing an energy performance directive to aid energy savings in large buildings and set regulations for energy-efficient designs based on standard calculation methods. This book provides engineers working with sustainable energy systems, urban planners needing information on energy systems and optimisation, and professors and students of engineering, environmental science, and urban planning with a valuable reference on energy sustainability.
Publication Date: 2015
Energy for the 21st Century (Online, EbookCentral) by Roy L. NersesianAs concerns over rising energy prices and potential shortages continue to grow, this comprehensive handbook provides a detailed analysis of the past, present, and future of all the principle energy sources - biomass, coal, oil, natural gas, hydro and nuclear power - as well as sustainable sources, especially fuel cell technology. Equally useful for students of energy and energy policy as well as policy makers and professionals in the field, "Energy for the 21st Century" begins with a fascinating survey of the early history and use of energy sources and the colorful expansion of Big Oil. It examines the evolving technologies for each source of energy, national and international policy issues, the effects of Middle East wars, disruptions from hurricane Katrina, and the growing energy demands of India and China. Written by an expert who is both an energy professional and a business educator, the book offers a comprehensive examination of the most current energy policies under consideration, with special attention to environmental concerns.
Publication Date: 2006
Environment, Energy and Climate Change I: Environmental chemistry of pollutants and wastes by Elena Jimenez (Editor); Beatriz Cabañas (Editor); Gilles Lefebvre (Editor)This volume offers a comprehensive overview of advanced research in the field of environmental green chemistry for air, soil and water pollutants, and presents emerging technologies on the chemical treatment of polluted sites and wastes. The 15 chapters, prepared by internationally respected experts, address the following topics: (1) monitoring of indoor and outdoor air pollutants; (2) atmospheric degradation processes and formation mechanisms of secondary pollutants; (3) the environmental assessment and impacts of soils polluted by heavy metals and hydrocarbons; (4) sustainable and emerging technologies for the chemical treatment of organic and animal wastes and wastewaters; (5) photocatalytic CO2 conversion methods for the mitigation of greenhouse effects; and (6) non-conventional methods in green chemistry synthesis. Lastly, the authors outline the future perspectives of each topic. Given its multidisciplinary approach, combining environmental analysis and engineering, the book offers a valuable resource for all researchers and students interested in environmental chemistry and engineering.
Publication Date: 2015
Our Energy Future: resources, alternatives and the environment (online, ProQuest eBooks) by Christian Ngo; Joseph NatowitzPresents an overview on the different aspects of the energy value chain and discusses the issues that future energy is facing This book covers energy and the energy policy choices which face society. The book presents easy-to-grasp information and analysis, and includes statistical data for energy production, consumption and simple formulas. Among the aspects considered are: science, technology, economics and the impact on health and the environment. In this new edition two new chapters have been added: The first new chapter deals with unconventional fossil fuels, a resource which has become very important from the economical point of view, especially in the United States. The second new chapter presents the applications of nanotechnology in the energy domain. Provides a global vision of available and potential energy sources Discusses advantages and drawbacks to help prepare current and future generations to use energy differently Includes new chapters covering unconventional fossil fuels and nanotechnology as new energy Our Energy Future: Resources, Alternatives and the Environment, Second Edition, is written for professionals, students, teachers, decision-makers and politicians involved in the energy domain and interested in environmental issues.