CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, Second Edition (Online, CRC) by Eric W. WeissteinUpon publication, the first edition of the CRCConcise Encyclopedia of Mathematics received overwhelming accolades for its unparalleled scope, readability, and utility. It soon took its place among the top selling books in the history of Chapman & Hall/CRC, and its popularity continues unabated. Yet also unabated has been the dedication of author Eric Weisstein to collecting, cataloging, and referencing mathematical facts, formulas, and definitions. He has now updated most of the original entries and expanded the Encyclopediato include 1000 additional pages of illustrated entries. The accessibility of the Encyclopediaalong with its broad coverage and economical price make it attractive to the widest possible range of readers and certainly a must for libraries, from the secondary to the professional and research levels. For mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references, this is simply the most impressive compendium available.
Publication Date: 2010
Print Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Mathematics by James Stuart TantonEncyclopedia of Mathematics is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia designed for high school through early college students. More than 1,000 entries, more than 125 photographs and illustrations, and numerous essays cover the principal areas and issues that characterize this ""new"" area of science. This valuable resource unites disparate ideas and provides the meaning, history, context, and relevance behind each one. The easy-to-use format makes finding straightforward and natural answers to questions within arithmetic - such as algebra, trigonometry, geometry, probability, combinatorics, numbers, logic, calculus, and statistics - simple. Encyclopedia of Mathematics also gives historical context to mathematical concepts, with entries discussing ancient Arabic, Babylonian, Chinese, Egyptian, Greek, Hindu, and Mayan mathematics, as well as entries providing biographical descriptions of important people in the development of mathematics.
Call Number: KINGSWAY REFERENCE LEVEL 4 N510.3 TANT