EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
A Textbook of Graph Theory (Online; SpringerLink) by R. Balakrishnan; K. RanganathanGraph theory experienced a tremendous growth in the 20th century. One of the main reasons for this phenomenon is the applicability of graph theory in other disciplines such as physics, chemistry, psychology, sociology, and theoretical computer science. This textbook provides a solid background in the basic topics of graph theory, and is intended for an advanced undergraduate or beginning graduate course in graph theory. This second edition includes two new chapters: one on domination in graphs and the other on the spectral properties of graphs, the latter including a discussion on graph energy. The chapter on graph colorings has been enlarged, covering additional topics such as homomorphisms and colorings and the uniqueness of the Mycielskian up to isomorphism. This book also introduces several interesting topics such as Dirac's theorem on k-connected graphs, Harary-Nashwilliam's theorem on the hamiltonicity of line graphs, Toida-McKee's characterization of Eulerian graphs, the Tutte matrix of a graph, Fournier's proof of Kuratowski's theorem on planar graphs, the proof of the nonhamiltonicity of the Tutte graph on 46 vertices, and a concrete application of triangulated graphs.
Publication Date: 2012
Advanced Graph Theory and Combinatorics (Online; ProQuest) by Michel RigoAdvanced Graph Theory focuses on some of the main notions arising in graph theory with an emphasis from the very start of the book on the possible applications of the theory and the fruitful links existing with linear algebra. The second part of the book covers basic material related to linear recurrence relations with application to counting and the asymptotic estimate of the rate of growth of a sequence satisfying a recurrence relation.
New Intro Modal Logic (Online; ProQuest) by Hughes Cresswell StaffThis long-awaited book replaces Hughes and Cresswell's two classic studies of modal logic: An Introduction to Modal Logicand A Companion to Modal Logic. A New Introduction to Modal Logicis an entirely new work, completely re-written by the authors. They have incorporated all the new developments that have taken place since 1968 in both modal propositional logic and modal predicate logic, without sacrificing tha clarity of exposition and approachability that were essential features of their earlier works. The book takes readers from the most basic systems of modal propositional logic right up to systems of modal predicate with identity. It covers both technical developments such as completeness and incompleteness, and finite and infinite models, and their philosophical applications, especially in the area of modal predicate logic.
Functions and Generality of Logic by Houria Benis-Sinaceur; Marco Panza; Gabriel SanduThis book examines three connected aspects of Frege's logicism: the differences between Dedekind's and Frege's interpretation of the term 'logic' and related terms and reflects on Frege's notion of function, comparing its understanding and the role it played in Frege's and Lagrange's foundational programs. It concludes with an examination of the notion of arbitrary function, taking into account Frege's, Ramsey's and Russell's view on the subject. Composed of three chapters, this book sheds light on important aspects of Dedekind's and Frege's logicisms. The first chapter explains how, although he shares Frege's aim at substituting logical standards of rigor to intuitive imports from spatio-temporal experience into the deductive presentation of arithmetic, Dedekind had a different goal and used or invented different tools. The chapter highlights basic dissimilarities between Dedekind's and Frege's actual ways of doing and thinking. The second chapter reflects on Frege's notion of a function, in comparison with the notions endorsed by Lagrange and the followers of the program of arithmetization of analysis. It remarks that the foundational programs pursued by Lagrange and Frege are crucially different and based on a different idea of what the foundations of mathematics should be like. However, despite this contrast, the notion of function plays similar roles in the two programs, and this chapter emphasizes the similarities. The third chapter traces the development of thinking about Frege's program in the foundations of mathematics, and includes comparisons of Frege's, Russell's and Ramsey's views. The chapter discusses earlier papers written by Hintikka, Sandu, Demopoulos and Trueman. Although the chapter's main focus is on the notion of arbitrary correlation, it starts out by discussing some aspects of the connection between this notion and Dedekind Theorem.
Applied Mathematics for Science and Engineering (Online; ProQuest) by Larry A. GlasgowPrepare students for success in using applied mathematics for engineering practice and post-graduate studies *nbsp;moves from one mathematical method to the next sustaining reader interest and easing the application of the techniques *nbsp;Uses different examples from chemical, civil, mechanical and various other engineering fields *nbsp;Based on a decade's worth of the authors lecture notes detailing the topic of applied mathematics for scientists and engineers *nbsp;Concisely writing with numerous examples provided including historical perspectives as well as a solutions manual for academic adopters
Publication Date: 2014
Applied Mathematics: Made Simple (Online, Overdrive) by Patrick MurphyApplied Mathematics: Made Simple provides an elementary study of the three main branches of classical applied mathematics: statics, hydrostatics, and dynamics. The book begins with discussion of the concepts of mechanics, parallel forces and rigid bodies, kinematics, motion with uniform acceleration in a straight line, and Newton's law of motion. Separate chapters cover vector algebra and coplanar motion, relative motion, projectiles, friction, and rigid bodies in equilibrium under the action of coplanar forces. The final chapters deal with machines and hydrostatics. The standard and content of the book covers C.S.E. and 'O' level G.C.E. examinations in Applied Mathematics and Mechanics as well as the relevant parts of the syllabuses for Physics and General Science courses related to Engineering, Building, and Agriculture. The book is also written for the home study reader who is interested in widening his mathematical appreciation or simply reviving forgotten ideas. The author hopes that the style of presentation will be found sufficiently attractive to recapture those who may at one time have lost interest.
Functional Analysis: fundamentals and applications (Online; SpringerLink) by Michel WillemThe goal of this work is to present the principles of functional analysis in a clear and concise way. The first three chapters of Functional Analysis: Fundamentals and Applications describe the general notions of distance, integral and norm, as well as their relations. The three chapters that follow deal with fundamental examples: Lebesgue spaces, dual spaces and Sobolev spaces. Two subsequent chapters develop applications to capacity theory and elliptic problems. In particular, the isoperimetric inequality and the Pólya-Szeg and Faber-Krahn inequalities are proved by purely functional methods. The epilogue contains a sketch of the history of functional analysis, in relation with integration and differentiation. Starting from elementary analysis and introducing relevant recent research, this work is an excellent resource for students in mathematics and applied mathematics.