EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Nematode Parasites of Vertebrates (Online, Unlimited Users) by R. C. AndersonThis well illustrated book provides an historical and unified overview of a century and a half of research on the development, life cycles, transmission and evolution of the nematodes found in vertebrates throughout the world. This second, expanded edition includes relevant data from some 450 new references that have appeared from 1989 to 1999. The volume includes nematode parasites of humans, domestic animals and wildlife including fish. After an introductory chapter outlining general principles, the author systematically describes the biological characteristics of the 27 superfamilies of nematodes, followed by families, subfamilies, genera and species.
Microbial Life of Cave Systems (Online, Unlimited Users) by Annette Summers Engel (Editor);The earth's subsurface contains abundant and active microbial biomass, living in water, occupying pore space, and colonizing mineral and rock surfaces. Caves are one type of subsurface habitat, being natural, solutionally- or collapse-enlarged openings in rock. Within the past 30 years, there has been an increase in the number of microbiology studies from cave environments to understand cave ecology, cave geology, and even the origins of life. By emphasizing the microbial life of caves, and the ecological processes and geological consequences attributed to microbes, this book provides the first authoritative and comprehensive account of the microbial life of caves for students, professionals, and general readers.
Publication Date: 2015
Atlas of Zebrafish Development (Online Science Direct) by Robert Bryson-Richardson; Silke Berger; Peter CurrieZebrafish are widely considered an excellent model system for vertebrate development. The embryo is transparent, thereby enabling visualization and use of labelling and transgenic approaches. Moreover, because of the ease of inducing new mutations in zebrafish and similarity with the human genome, this organism may be used effectively for disease studies. For example, mutant zebrafish are being utilized for testing drugs that will combat a range of human diseases, from Alzheimer's and cancer to kidney failure and congenital heart disease. For the first time, this atlas provides the research community with a complete reference for zebrafish anatomy spanning the early embryo all the way to adulthood. The authors employ the technique of optical projection tomography (OPT), and offer a series of sections in multiple planes from each sample. The contents are organized by developmental stages, with over 200 images that contain annotations describing anatomical structures relevant to development. In addition, chapters feature explanatory text that highlights major developments in the zebrafish during each stage. Provides the first comprehensive anatomical resource that covers all regions of zebrafish anatomy from the larval period to adulthood The over 200 images include explanatory notes Each chapter contains a concise description of key anatomical features that factor in zebrafish development Despite many years of use as a model system, until now there has never been a guide to zebrafish at the larval stage The book's website contains a database of over 10k sections from different regions as well as 3D images that are interactive
Publication Date: 2011
The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents (Online, Science Direct) by Mark A. Suckow (Editor); Karla A. Stevens (Editor); Ronald P. Wilson (Editor)The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents is a single volume, comprehensive book sanctioned by the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM), covering the rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, gerbil and other rodents often used in research. This well-illustrated reference won a 2012 PROSE Award for Best Single Volume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers. The book includes basic biology, anatomy, physiology, behavior, infectious and noninfectious diseases, husbandry and breeding, common experimental methods, and use of the species as a research model. With many expert contributors, this will be an extremely valuable publication for biomedical researchers, laboratory animal veterinarians and other professionals engaged in laboratory animal science. 2012 PROSE Award winner for Best Single Volume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers One-stop resource for advancements in the humane and responsible care of: rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, gerbil, chinchilla, deer mouse, kangaroo rat, cotton rat, sand rat, and degu Includes up-to-date, common experimental methods Organized by species for easy access during bench research
Publication Date: 2012
Mammals Online Books
The Mammals of the Southern African Sub-Region (Online; Cambridge) by Christeen Grant (Illustrator); Dafila Scott (Illustrator); Christian T. Chimimba; John D. Skinner; Clare Abbott (Illustrator); Dick Findlay (Illustrator)This comprehensive volume covers all mammals that occur naturally on the African mainland south of the Cunene and Zambezi rivers, and also in the subregion's coastal waters. Extensively revised and updated for the new edition, it now includes the latest data from from mammal research in southern Africa along with the radical taxonomic changes across all levels of mammalian classification. Containing contributions from specialists on each mammalian order, each species description has been reviewed by a range of independent and internationally recognised authorities. Along with the latest taxonomic information, the distribution maps and illustrations have been updated and redrawn, several new colour plates have been added, and the whole design has been enhanced to aid access to key information. This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date survey of southern-African mammals and forms an essential reference for zoologists, evolutionary biologists and anyone wanting an overview of the region's wildlife.