The UJ Library has a variety of resources to help you in finding information during your research journey.
UJoogle: a powerful Library search engine that allows you to search the UJ Library Catalogue and the databases all at one go.
UJ Library Catalogue: a gateway to millions of print and electronic books (e-books). See this LibGuide and the short video (at the bottom of the page) for everything you need to know about e-books.
The Library databases offer subject-specific searching of academic articles and electronic books. Please see the Faculty Subject Guides for the specific databases in your research area.
South African / African research: Sabinet African Journals database and Africa-Wide Information
Newspapers: for current, local & international online newspapers including the Sowetan, Saturday Star, Die Burger, Sunday Times and many more.
UJ IR (Institutional Repository) gives you access to research previously done at UJ.
National ETD Portal: South African Theses and Dissertations: gives you access to research done at other South African institutions
The OpenDOAR service provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database for locating Thesis and Dissertations from around the world.
Please note: This video has been added to guide you through the process, please follow your lecturer's NOTES
What is the purpose of a research proposal?
What skills are required for a research proposal?
You need: Subject knowledge and research skills
Critical thinking skills
Communication skills
Borrowing books
You have access to all the print and online information resources at the Library. A valid university card must be presented at the circulation counter for all the borrowing of the print resources. Find quotas and loan periods applicable to various client groups here. E-books and articles are available for downloads. It will be helpful to watch the videos on how you can download Ebooks on Overdrive and EBSCOhost.
Interlibrary and Intercampus loans
Intercampus Loans (ICL) is a service through which material held by one UJ campus Library is sent to another UJ campus library for your convenience. Read more about this service here.
Moreover, the Interlibrary Loan department provides a service to researchers by obtaining material not owned by the University of Johannesburg libraries. Material is obtained from libraries in South Africa and abroad. If the desired item cannot be located in South Africa, you will receive a notification indicating the additional cost of an international request. Please click here for more information about Interlibrary Loans.
Library training: one-on-one consultations with a Librarian/ group training
The library offers workshops on information retrieval and use of information sources. We offer a selection of workshops to support you during the various stages of the research cycle. Please see our monthly workshop schedule here. You may contact your Librarian for workshops that are offered outside this schedule.
Research information alerts: This service sends newly available research information to your mail without the need to search regularly across different databases. Alerts can be customized to appear daily, weekly or monthly and across as many databases as you choose. Contact your Librarian for information on how you can set this up.
Copyright
The infringement of copyright may result in legal action by the authors or owners of the information used. Our copyright officer is available to assist with all the copyright issues.