Databases

South African Legal Databases

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text

In order to access Lexis Library, you have to self-register.

Click on Register
Insert your Name, Surname, UJ email address and create a password of your choice
Click Register again
A verification email will be sent to your UJ email address (e.g 227088888@student.uj.ac.za)
Click on Verify Account
You are then good to go and can login with your UJ email address as username and the password of your choice

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journal of South African Law is available on this database

See South African Law Journals available on Heinonline:

African Journal of Law and Human Rights
Journal of South African Law
South African Law Journal
South African Journal of Criminal Justice
South African Mercantile Law Journal
South African Human Rights Yearbook

Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations) Coverage: Varies according to database product Full text (except for Law and Government)

A-Z Databases

A-Z Databases
You can access the A-Z UJ Databases list

Multidisciplinary Databases with Legal Content

Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers humanities, social sciences and international law Coverage: varies per collection Full text
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references. Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content

See the following databases on EBSCOHost which may be of interest:

Legal Source

Africa-Wide Information

Academic Search Ultimate

Family & Society Studies Worldwide

Business Source Ultimate

Women's Studies International

Edward Elgar Law Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals cover law and economics Available via Elgaronline and HeinOnline (Edward Elgar Publishing Law Package) Coverage: Vol. 1 to the present Full Text
Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Physical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects Coverage: 1980 to the present Full text

Latest Issue of Journal of South African Law available on Gale Academic OneFile

Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Global Competition Review (OpenAthens) (contact Info Desk for login details: 011 559 2171) This link opens in a new window A leading competition law and policy journal and news service, informative competition news with breaking news commentary and analysis five days a week, as well as original in-depth reports, interviews and features on antitrust enforcement worldwide
HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas. Format: Full text Coverage varies according to content
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

International Legal Databases

Brill Climate Change & Law Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law.
Juris das Rechsportal (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Kluwer Law Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals Coverage: From Vol. 1 Full Text
Kluwer Law Online Manuals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Encyclopaedia of Law Series (IEL), loose-leafs in electronic format Coverage: updated regularly Full Text
Legal Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, including book reviews and case citations Coverage: Vol. 1 to the present Full text
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Formerly known as LexisNexis UK. Lexis+ UK is an important source of full text legal information. It provides access to UK, EU, US, and international case law, legislation, legal journals, as well as UK national and regional newspapers. • Coverage varies according to title. • Full text.
SCC Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Indian case law, statutory law, secondary material, foreign and international material Coverage: varies according to title Full Text

Accessing SCC Online guide

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text
Vlex Justis (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Case law and legislation in the UK, Ireland, EU and the Caribbean. Also includes cases and legislation (Conventions and Protocols) of the European Court of Human Rights Coverage: varies according to title Full Text
Westlaw International (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International law, Ebooks Books, Treaties, Journal articles, Case Law and Legislation Coverage: Varies according to title Partly full text
Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Law - Guide for Non-Law Students: Databases

Research Support, Reputable Links and Definition of a Database

South African Legal Databases

A-Z Databases

Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases with Legal Content

Legal Source

Africa-Wide Information

Academic Search Ultimate

Family & Society Studies Worldwide

Business Source Ultimate

International Legal Databases

Google Scholar