Skip to Main Content

CBE - Postgraduate and Research Support: UJ Resources

Welcome to the College of Business and Economics: We will use this guide to constantly give you relevant and recent resources and services that are available for CBE.

Research outputs

Research output, Theses & Dissertations (UJ)

 UJ IR is the University of Johannesburg’s Open Access Institutional Repository. The IR collects and maintains intellectual scholarship such as published journal articles (pre-print and post-print), conference papers and proceedings, data sets, reports, theses and dissertations in a free and open environment.

UJ DR is the University of Johannesburg’s Open Access Data Repository. Our data repository collects Research data/Raw data/Datasets, which are data in whatever formats or form collected, observed, generated, created and obtained during the entire course of a research project.

Library Resources

Useful Library Resources

  • Borrowing books: You have access to all the print and online information resources at the Library. A valid university card must be presented at the circulation counter for all the borrowing of the print resources. Find quotas and loan periods applicable to various client
    groups here. E-books and articles are available for downloads. Find a video on downloading e-books here.
    An additional video on downloading books from a library database called Overdrive is available here.
    Please see the guide on how you can search for articles. Please note that the guide on finding articles is based on one of our many databases (EBSCOHOST).
  • Interlibrary and Intercampus loans Intercampus Loans (ICL) is a service through which material held by one UJ campus library is
    sent to another UJ campus library for your convenience. Read more about this service here. Moreover, the Interlibrary Loan department provides a service to researchers by obtaining material not owned by the University of Johannesburg libraries. Material is obtained from libraries in South Africa and abroad. If a desired item cannot be located in South Africa, you will receive a notification indicating the additional cost of an international request. Please click here for more information on Interlibrary Loans. You may submit your
    request for Interlibrary loans here
  • Library training: one-on-one consultations with a Librarian/ group training. The library offers training in information retrieval
    and use of information sources. We offer a selection of training sessions to support you during the various stages of the research
    cycle.  
    You may contact your Faculty Librarian for training that is offered outside this schedule.
  • Useful Library Resources:
    • LibGuides: subject-specific guides created by the Faculty Librarians.
    UJoogle: a powerful Library search engine that allows you to search the UJ Library Catalogue and the databases all at one go. Click here
    to see a video on how to use UJoogle
    • UJ Library Catalogue : a gateway to millions of print and electronic books (e-books). See this video on how to use the UJ Library catalogue.
    • Databases A-Z: offer subject-specific searching for academic articles and electronic books. Please see the Faculty Subject
    Guides     for the specific databases in your research area.• South African / African research:
    Sabinet African
    Journals database     and
    Africa-Wide
    Information
    • UJ Thesis and Dissertations: Reading completed/previous Theses and Dissertations provides an important source for identifying
    current research in the area. Please see the YouTube video on how to find UJ Theses and Dissertations.
    • UJ Research Data Repository: is a repository for the organization, storage, preservation, and sharing of data collected and used in a research project.
    • Research alerts: researchers need to keep up-to-date with recently published information and developments. Using alerts can save you
    valuable time and help you stay current! You can specify search terms or journal titles within databases and/or search engines and
    results are delivered automatically via email. Please note that not all databases in all disciplines allow for alerts Kindly contact
    your Faculty Librarian for information on how you can set the alerts up.
    • Newspapers for current, local & international online newspapers including the Sowetan, Saturday Star, Die Burger, Sunday Times and many more

Special collections & Archives

Special Collections

he University of Johannesburg Library’s Special Collections comprise collections of primary source material and rare books.

The Special Collections’ chief aim is to provide a valuable, unique research resource for the UJ community, as well as an easily accessible service to all researchers interested in southern Africa.

Although the primary source material and rare books cover many aspects of southern Africa, our focus is on Johannesburg and the Witwatersrand: its history, architectural heritage and people. Within this focus, our strengths are: mining and mineworkers and business, especially family business and small business development in Johannesburg.

Johannesburg, being a cosmopolitan city, has citizens from many different cultures and traditions and the anthropological collection of southern African cultures and languages is a valuable resource in this regard.