Skip to Main Content

CBE - Postgraduate and Research Support: Online Library Support

Welcome to the College of Business and Economics: We will use this guide to constantly give you relevant and recent resources and services that are available for CBE.

Catalog search box2

Online Library Support for Postgradutes & Researchers

UJ Library Bindery Services

The UJ Library includes a well-established Bindery where hard (craft) binding is done to professional standards. The Bindery offers binding services to UJ students, staff, academic departments and faculties as well as private clients

Theses and dissertations bound according to university specifications and standards. We bind any books, including Bibles and collector’s items.
Phone us for a free quotation (Tel. 011 559 2161) or visit us in the library at Kingsway Campus.
For more information on the Bindery, including tariffs, click here.

Blackboard Support

Contact one of the 2 people at the Centre of Academic Technology (CAT) for support with Blackboard.

Lufuno: lufunom@uj.ac.za

Berry: berrym@uj.ac.za

 

 

Quick Links to get you started:

Meet your CBE Librarian:

My name is Madumella Mofokeng and I am the Faculty Librarian for CBE. 

I'm responsible for your Library Research Support, throughout your Postgraduate studies.

My contact details:

  • E-mail: mmofokeng@uj.ac.za
  • Blackboard CM0017: Science Postgraduates Library Support Module
  • Zoom & Teams - for online talks and traiigs
  • If you need help, contact me on Telephone: 011 559 2641

Q1. What is the purpose of Interlibrary Loans?

To obtain material for clients (books and journal articles) which are not available in our library collection. Material is obtained from libraries in Southern Africa and from international libraries through national and international interlibrary loan schemes.​

Q2. Who qualifies for Interlibrary Loans?

  • 4th year undergraduate students;
  • Honors students; Registered Masters and Doctoral students;
  • Staff members of the University of Johannesburg.

Q3. How do I submit requests?

Firstly, it is essential to check the online library catalog, and the electronic journals to ensure that the required item is not held at the University of Johannesburg Library Service.

Secondly, it is essential to determine whether the journal article is available electronically in the case of journals. Electronic journal titles subscribed to by the Library Service are accessible via the online library catalog and an E-journal title A-Z list on the online databases web page

Request via the Internet: Please fill in all the fields when you request a book or journal article online. No requests will be processed without the necessary information regarding your student/staff number and address. ILL will process no requests without the necessary information regarding your student/staff number and address.​​​​​

Q4. What information is required when submitting a request?

Books: Author / Title / Year / ISBN if available

Articles: Journal title / Author of article / Title of article / Year / Volume / Part / Page numbers / ISSN if available

Inter Campus loans 

ICL is a service through which material held by one UJ campus Library is sent to another UJ campus library for the patron’s convenience.​

Borrowing Books

  • You will need your UJ student /staff card to borrow books.
  • Postgraduate students (Doctoral and Masters, Honours, B. Tech. and 4th-year degree students may borrow 16 books for 30 days;
    Post Doctoral students/Research Fellows may borrow 30 books for 60 days.
  • For more information on membership types and borrowing privileges, see Lending Services Q1: “Who may borrow and for how long?”

Renewing Books

All items from the general collection may be renewed twice if the item has not been placed on hold for/by another client).
Please note: Items from the reserve collection CANNOT be renewed.
Items may be renewed by phone (011 559 2165), online (access the Library Catalogue, click on “My UJLink” and follow the prompts) or in person at the Lending desk

Lending Self Service

You can perform the following services yourself without assistance from the Lending desk staff
– Access your patron record (library record)
– Place a hold on an item
– Renew items currently checked out
– Access class notes or articles placed on the reserved collection
– Issue items to yourself (self-checkout)
For detailed instructions, visit Lending self service.

Missing Books

If an item shows ‘available’ on the catalogue, but it is not on the shelves:

  • Complete the online “Missing books” form
  • The Library staff will search for the item and place it on hold for you if found.
  • If not found, the item will be indicated as “Missing” on the catalogue

To search for Print & Online Books, please use the Library Catalogue or the Science Subject LibGuides

How to LOGIN to Library Online Resources:

Option A: You can create a Library Password, which will enables you to login to the UJ Library databases

Option B for Postgrads:  You can LOGIN, using your Blackboard credentials: Select Student, Type your student number and Blackboard password.

Option B for Staff & researchers:  You can LOGIN, using your Staff e-mail credentials: Select STAFF, Type the fist part of your work e-mail and password.

 

Login via Open Athens

If you are prompted to this screen please use your Blackboard credentials to login and select Student

Take Virtual 3D Tour of the APK Library

Library Opening Times - 2022 academic year

Access to the UJ Libraries can only be granted if you have a valid UJ Card.
NB: Scan your UJ Card at the Entrance Door of the library and again at the Exit Door when you leave!
You do not need to book for library access.

For more information, visit the Library website

As a UJ Postgraduate student you can:

  • Check out: 16 print books for 30 days
  • Remote online access to databases
  • Unlimited access to Online Books

Faculty Librarian: CBE