LibGuides: FEBE- Industrial Engineering : Databases & Finding Articles

What is a Database?

A library database is an online searchable collection of information. Libraries buy subscriptions to databases so students can find useful and interesting information. Library databases contain lots of information ranging from scholarly peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, and conference papers.

Different types of databases:

Bibliographic databases: only refer you to the article, they do not supply the article itself.
Abstracting databases: Some databases not only include the bibliographic details of an article, but also a summary of the article.
Full-text databases: Some databases supply the full text of a document.
Multidisciplinary databases: Multidisciplinary databases can be used for any subject, e.g. EBSCOhost; Taylor & Francis
Subject-specific databases: Subject-specific databases are very useful for topics within a subject, IEEE; Knovel
Regional databases: Some databases are regional (focus on specific countries/continents. E.g. African Mines Online; SAePublications
Databases for older material: JSTOR is an excellent full-text source for older information.

How do I access a database?

Go to the Library Homepage.

Under Library Resources, click on Databases
Select the required database from the list by scrolling down to the relevant title, or
Click on the arrow under Choose Subject
Click on the relevant database from the list that appears.
Some databases are multidisciplinary and some are subject specific.
Some databases only have bibliographic information, whilst others have a summary of the article.
Full text databases provide access to the article in HTML or PDF format.
Select the PDF format because it is easier to quote, as it has the page numbers for the articles.

Multidsciplinary Databases

EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
Nature (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas. Format: Full text Coverage varies according to content

Databases for Industrial Engineering

Access Engineering (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window E-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc. Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology Coverage: 1948 to the present ACM publications: Full text Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
Engineering Village (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Access to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects. EV2 includes different information resources: Compendex: Coverage: 1884 to the present; abstracts Inspec: Coverage: 1896 to the present; abstracts Referex: E-books and engineering reference material on: Electrical Engineering and Electronics Mechanical Engineering and Materials Coverage: 1987 to the present; full text Espacenet: (Open access) Coverage: 1996 to the present; full text patents. IHS Standards: (Open access) Bibliographic citations of technical standards.
ICE Virtual Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Hosts content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE). UJ has full-text access to the following: * Journals: all current ICE Journals and Proceedings * Archives: ICE Proceedings, Geotechnique, Magazine of Concrete Research
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Includes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK). UJ’s subscription includes access to: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines IEEE conference proceedings IET journals IET conference proceedings IEEE published standards IEEE Standards Dictionary Online Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
INSPEC (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
Knovel (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Engineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems. Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes. Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.