Research process - Humanities - Postgraduate and Research Support

Research Process & Library use

What Resources you can use at different stages of your research:

1. Search for a Topic

Search Databases for articles on the topic of interest
Contact your Subject Librarian and arrange for training on "how to access & make use of Library academic resources"
Talk to your Supervisor

2. Preliminary Research

Access Science Subject/Faculty LibGuides
Make use of Bibliographic, Multidisciplinary & Subject Databases to search for articles and electronic books
Make use of UJLink: Library Catalogue to trace print & electronic books
Make use of UJContent to search for UJ completed Masters & Doctoral Dissertations & Theses

3. Narrow Focus

Examine article descriptors
Browse subject heading lists/ Databases Thesaurus
Examine article references
Examine related subjects
Examine sub-fields

4. List Keywords

Examine article descriptors
Examine subject heading lists/ Databases Thesaurus
Examine sub-fields
List synonyms

5. Search for Information on Topic

Access the Science Subject/Faculty LibGuides
Make use of Bibliographic, Multidisciplinary & Subject Databases to search for articles and electronic books
Start with Scopus multidisciplinary database or just access your Science Subject Guide to find the relevant databases
Make use of UJLink: Library Catalogue to trace print & electronic books
Professional websites

6. Organise Information

Develop outline
Evaluate information
Categorize articles & information
- Highlighting method
- Create computer folders
- Organize list of sources

7. Reflect & Write

Reflect & Write draft
Edit
Final critique & polish

8. Celebrate :)

Pat yourself & your colleagues on the back
Do something special

Source

Steps in the Research Process

The Mind map below, shows the different stages in the Research process from searching for research topic, to finding relevant information for your literature review, to organising and writing and how the librarians and the library resources can help you be successful.