Law - LLM in International Law: Legislation

• Information on the publication method of South African legislation.

• Links to databases that contain South African, international and foreign legislation/laws.

• Information (i) of the jurisdictional coverage in each database.

Click on thenext to a database link to find a description of the database

South African Databases:

International and Foreign Databases

You will find links to websites that provide free access to legislation and related materials on the Reputable Links page. In particular, the Legal Information Institute's (LII) websites are worth visiting. 

FINDING SOUTH AFRICAN LEGISLATION

Statutory materials such as the Acts of Paliament are officially published in the Government Gazette.  They are also published in consolidated ("as amended") form by the major South African legal publishers, Juta and LexisNexis.  The consolidated versions are available electronically on Jutastat Online, LexisNexis and Sabinet Legal.

The statutes are also available in hard copy in the library.

• Butterworths Classified and Annotated Statutes of South Africa: classified and annotated from 1910 (RMF SOUT) is a loose-leaf edition that is updated twice annually.  Acts are published in Afrikaans and English;
• Butterworths Statutes of the Republic of South Africa (RMF SUID BUTT) is a hard cover set and statutes are in English only.

Statutes can also be found in electronic format on the UJ subscribed Databases.

Click on thenext to a particular database link to view the jurisdictions covered in that database.

HeinOnline (OpenAthens)