Searching the 'deep web' shows what high quality resources can be discovered. These resources consist of a range of open source multidisciplinary resources
Infotrek is a Google safe alternative for students that offers information and reference sites on a multiple range of topics.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
The British Library catalogues, offer a wealth of printed materials, digital collections, and even collection blogs for a wealth of resources.
tED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages
AcademicInfo contains a directory of the best and most useful links and resources within a specific subject area. In most cases they list both printed reference works and electronic resources.
Scholarpedia is a peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia written and maintained by scholarly experts from around the world.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, website and many more.
The Archives Hub finds unique sources and digital content held at over 300 institutions across the United Kingdom.
With this search engine, you can search a selection of hundreds of websites with one click.
The Getty Research Institute library collections include over one million books, periodicals, study photographs, and auction catalogs as well as extensive special collections of rare and unique materials. Focusing on art history, architecture, and related fields, they begin with the archaeology of prehistory and extend to the contemporary moment.
Hosted by the University of Wisconsin, Since 1994, the Scout Project has focused on developing better tools and services for finding, filtering, and presenting online information and metadata.
New World Encyclopedia considers itself somewhere between Wikipedia and Encyclopedia Britannica – consistent and scholarly, but also easy to use and flexible. Their search engine is user friendly, and many of their topics have extensive linking to other subjects for further, relevant research.
20 libraries from museum complexes around the world.
Project Gutenberg offers over 59,000 free eBooks. Choose among free e-publications and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
The Virtual Library is a listing of A-Z multidisciplinary indexes and industries.
The Library of Congress' virtual library databases include quotes, image, politics, maps, as well as full text books and periodicals.
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
Based in Switzerland, a publisher of more than 110 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering arts, sciences, technology and medicine.
This source has close to 20,000 lectures to choose from and over 22,000 videos. Partners are the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, UNESCO Chair on Open Technologies and the Institut Jozef Stefan, Ljubljana, Solvenija.
By searching Creative Commons you can find images that hold the correct licenses for reproduction. This is a good source to use to avoid plagiarism.
IntecOpen is a multidisciplinary open access publisher, allowing you to access books in the fields of science, Technology and Medicine. It is built by scientists for scientists.
References.net is a multidisciplinary web directory of the most useful reference related resources that were carefully hand-picked by their editors. Browse our references collection by category, alphabetically, or simply search by keywords.
 |
 |