Aggregators eBook Collections:
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Spectroscopic Methods in Organic Chemistry (Online; Springer) by
This book is a well-established guide to the interpretation of the mass, ultraviolet, infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectra of organic compounds. It is designed for students of organic chemistry taking a course in the application of these techniques to structure determination. The text also remains useful as a source of data for organic chemists to keep on their desks throughout their career. In the seventh edition, substantial portions of the text have been revised reflecting knowledge gained during the author's teaching experience over the last seven years. The chapter on NMR has been divided into two separate chapters covering the 1D and 2D experiments. The discussion is also expanded to include accounts of the physics at a relatively simple level, following the development of the magnetization vectors as each pulse sequence is introduced. The emphasis on the uses of NMR spectroscopy in structure determination is retained. Worked examples and problem sets are included on a chapter level to allow students to practise their skills by determining the chemical structures of unknown compounds.
Organic Chemistry: structure, mechanism, synthesis (Online, Science Direct) by
Organic Chemistry: Structure, Mechanism, Synthesis, Second Edition, provides basic principles of this fascinating and challenging science, which lies at the interface of physical and biological sciences. Offering accessible language and engaging examples and illustrations, this valuable introduction for the in-depth chemistry course engages students and gives future and new scientists a new approach to understanding, rather than merely memorizing the key concepts underpinning this fundamental area. The book builds in a logical way from chemical bonding to resulting molecular structures, to the corresponding physical, chemical and biological properties of those molecules. The book explores how molecular structure determines reaction mechanisms, from the smallest to the largest molecules--which in turn determine strategies for organic synthesis. The book then describes the synthetic principles which extend to every aspect of synthesis, from drug design to the methods cells employ to synthesize the molecules of which they are made. These relationships form a continuous narrative throughout the book, in which principles logically evolve from one to the next, from the simplest to the most complex examples, with abundant connections between the theory and applications. Featuring in-book solutions and instructor PowerPoint slides, this Second Edition offers an updated and improved option for students in the two-semester course and for scientists who require a high quality introduction or refresher in the subject.
Advanced Organic Chemistry Series Books (Online, SpringerLink)
The two-part, fifth edition of Advanced Organic Chemistry has been substantially revised and reorganized for greater clarity. The material has been updated to reflect advances in the field since the previous edition, especially in computational chemistry. Part B describes the most general and useful synthetic reactions, organized on the basis of reaction type. It can stand-alone; together, with Part A: Structure and Mechanisms, the two volumes provide a comprehensive foundation for the study in organic chemistry. Companion websites provide digital models for students and exercise solutions for instructors.
Organic Chemistry Concepts (Online, Science Direct) by
Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach provides an introductory overview of the subject, to enable the reader to understand many critical, experimental facts. Designed to cover a single-semester course or a needed review on the principles of Organic Chemistry, the book is written and organized for readers whose first language is not English. Approximately 80% of the words used are drawn from the list of the 2,000 most common English words; the remaining 20% includes necessary technical words, common chemistry terms, and well-known academic words (per the Academic Word List). The book has been class-tested internationally as well as with native English speakers, and differs from other introductory textbooks in the subject both in its coverage and organization, with a particular focus on common problem areas. Focused on a limited number of functional classes, Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach introduces those organic compounds early in the book. Once readers have a foundation of the concepts and language of organic chemistry, they can build from that knowledge and work with relatively complex molecules, such as some natural product types covered in a later chapter. The book describes basic level reaction mechanisms when instructive, and illustrations throughout to emphasize the 3D nature of organic chemistry. The book includes multiple pedagogical features, such as chapter questions and useful appendices, to support reader comprehension. Covers all primary concepts in accessible language and pedagogical features, worked examples, glossary, chapter questions, illustrations, and useful summaries Builds a foundation of key material through a structured framework from which readers can expand their understanding Contains class-tested content written in a straightforward and accessible manner for non-native English speakers
Organic Chemistry Study Guide (Online, Science Direct) by
Organic Chemistry Study Guide: Key Concepts, Problems, and Solutions features hundreds of problems from the companion book, Organic Chemistry, and includes solutions for every problem. Key concept summaries reinforce critical material from the primary book and enhance mastery of this complex subject. Organic chemistry is a constantly evolving field that has great relevance for all scientists, not just chemists. For chemical engineers, understanding the properties of organic molecules and how reactions occur is critically important to understanding the processes in an industrial plant. For biologists and health professionals, it is essential because nearly all of biochemistry springs from organic chemistry. Additionally, all scientists can benefit from improved critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are developed from the study of organic chemistry. Organic chemistry, like any "skill", is best learned by doing. It is difficult to learn by rote memorization, and true understanding comes only from concentrated reading, and working as many problems as possible. In fact, problem sets are the best way to ensure that concepts are not only well understood, but can also be applied to real-world problems in the work place. Helps readers learn to categorize, analyze, and solve organic chemistry problems at all levels of difficulty Hundreds of fully-worked practice problems, all with solutions Key concept summaries for every chapter reinforces core content from the companion book
Principles of Organic Chemistry (Online, Science Direct) by
Class-tested and thoughtfully designed for student engagement, Principles of Organic Chemistry provides the tools and foundations needed by students in a short course or one-semester class on the subject. This book does not dilute the material or rely on rote memorization. Rather, it focuses on the underlying principles in order to make accessible the science that underpins so much of our day-to-day lives, as well as present further study and practice in medical and scientific fields. This book provides context and structure for learning the fundamental principles of organic chemistry, enabling the reader to proceed from simple to complex examples in a systematic and logical way. Utilizing clear and consistently colored figures, Principles of Organic Chemistry begins by exploring the step-by-step processes (or mechanisms) by which reactions occur to create molecular structures. It then describes some of the many ways these reactions make new compounds, examined by functional groups and corresponding common reaction mechanisms. Throughout, this book includes biochemical and pharmaceutical examples with varying degrees of difficulty, with worked answers and without, as well as advanced topics in later chapters for optional coverage. Incorporates valuable and engaging applications of the content to biological and industrial uses Includes a wealth of useful figures and problems to support reader comprehension and study Provides a high quality chapter on stereochemistry as well as advanced topics such as synthetic polymers and spectroscopy for class customization
Basic Concepts of Analytical Chemistry (Online; ProQuest) by
Indispensable for postgraduate students majoring in analytical chemistry and chemistry graduatesA guide to practising chemistry and associated research activitiesABOUT THE BOOK:The third edition of this book has been thoroughly revised and enlarged to include few chatpers pertaining to supercritical fluid chromatography and extraction, electrophoresis, capillary electrophoresis & capillary electro-chromatography, X-Ray spectroscopy, Mössbauer spectroscopy, Raman spectroscopy, electron microscopy, chemiluminescence, atomic fluorescence, ionization spectroscopy, chemical sensors & biological sensors, refractometry & interferometry. In addition, all other chapters have been revised to incorporate new concepts.
The Chemistry of Polymers. 3rd ed. (Online RSC) by
The Chemistry of Polymers, Third edition, is a well established and highly readable introductory text book on polymer science, ideal for chemists requiring a broad introduction to the subject. Like its predecessors it has been written primarily from an applications point of view, emphasising practical applications and providing a comprehensive introduction on all aspects of polymer science including polymer synthesis, characterisation, reaction kinetics and materials science. Specialised topics such as polymer degradation, polymers and pollution and a variety of technological developments are also discussed in an informative and up-to-date manner. This third edition of the book has been extensively revised to include the latest developments in polymer science. Highlights and updates include a new chapter on dendrimers - a field of chemistry that has grown enormously in the last ten years. Coverage of 'Special topics in polymer chemistry' and 'Polymers in the environment' have both been updated to reflect recent developments in the field, including polymer recycling. This text is essential reading for university students, teachers and scientists who wish to acquire an up-to-the-minute overview of polymer science and its many specialised topics in an informative and easy to read style.
Principles of Polymer Design and Synthesis by
How can a scientist or engineer synthesize and utilize polymers to solve our daily problems? This introductory text, aimed at the advanced undergraduate or graduate student, provides future scientists and engineers with the fundamental knowledge of polymer design and synthesis to achieve specific properties required in everyday applications. In the first five chapters, this book discusses the properties and characterization of polymers, since designing a polymer initially requires us to understand the effects of chemical structure on physical and chemical characteristics. Six further chapters discuss the principles of polymerization reactions including step, radical chain, ionic chain, chain copolymerization, coordination and ring opening. Finally, material is also included on how commonly known polymers are synthesized in a laboratory and a factory. This book is suitable for a one semester course in polymer chemistry and does not demand prior knowledge of polymer science.
Practical Gas Chromatography: a comprehensive reference (Online; Springer) by
Gas chromatography continues to be one of the most widely used analytical techniques, since its applications today expand into fields such as biomarker research or metabolomics. This new practical textbook enables the reader to make full use of gas chromatography. Essential fundamentals and their implications for the practical work at the instrument are provided, as well as details on the instrumentation such as inlet systems, columns and detectors. Specialized techniques from all aspects of GC are introduced ranging from sample preparation, solvent-free injection techniques, and pyrolysis GC, to separation including fast GC and comprehensive GCxGC and finally detection, such as GC-MS and element-specific detection. Various fields of application such as enantiomer, food, flavor and fragrance analysis, physicochemical measurements, forensic toxicology, and clinical analysis are discussed as well as cutting-edge application in metabolomics is covered.
Gas Chromatography (Science Direct) by
This title provides comprehensive coverage of modern gas chromatography including theory, instrumentation, columns, and applications addressing the needs of advanced students and professional scientists in industry and government laboratories. Chapters are written by recognized experts on each topic. Each chapter offers a complete picture with respect to its topic so researchers can move straight to the information they need without reading through a lot of background information.
Practical Laboratory Skills: Gas Chromatography (Online; RSC) by
Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides aim to make achieving best practice easy. These invaluable manuals will enable both experienced and inexperienced staff to get the essential basics of any experiment right simply by following the clear and easy to use instructions provided. The guides are written by experienced scientists and include minimal theory, plenty of practical exercises in order to assess competence, and trouble shooting information. Available for purchase separately or as a complete set, Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides include the following titles: Measurement of Mass; Measurement of Volume; Measurement of pH; High Performance Liquid Chromatography; and Gas Chromatography. The measurement guides look at the principles and terminology of each technique and the choice of equipment. This is followed by a step-by-step guide and some practical exercises. The chromatography guides begin by looking at the basic theory of the technique, then the system and its components. Sections on calibration and problem solving are included. These guides are intended for laboratory technicians in industry, students at university or anyone needing a clear, concise and reliable guide to analytical procedures. A package consisting of the training guides and a CD-ROM, Practical Laboratory Skills, is also available. Contact Sales and Customer Care for details.
Physical Chemistry in Depth (Online, SpringerLink) by
"Physical Chemistry in Depth" is not a stand-alone text, but complements the text of any standard textbook on "Physical Chemistry" into depth having in mind to provide profound understanding of some of the topics presented in these textbooks. Standard textbooks in Physical Chemistry start with thermodynamics, deal with kinetics, structure of matter, etc. The "Physical Chemistry in Depth" follows this adjustment, but adds chapters that are treated traditionally in ordinary textbooks inadequately, e.g., general scaling laws, the graphlike structure of matter, and cross connections between the individual disciplines of Physical Chemistry. Admittedly, the text is loaded with some mathematics, which is a prerequisite to thoroughly understand the topics presented here. However, the mathematics needed is explained at a really low level so that no additional mathematical textbook is needed.
