Science - Chemistry: Quick References

This Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Science and Chemistry Engineering contains trusted, peer-reviewed, comprehensive content from our reference works as curated by our world-class editorial board led by Editor-in-Chief, Jan Reedijk. It is designed for faster, more relevant browsing within the subject and beyond, with "Featured Articles" for quick, clear overviews, subject hierarchies to put everything in context, and guidance to lead researchers to related knowledge.

Subjects included are:

• Analytical Sciences and Chemometrics
• Chemical Process Technology and Engineering
• Interfacial Chemistry - Surfaces and Electrochemistry
• Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry
• Molecular Inorganic Chemistry
• Natural Products, Chemical Biology, and Food Chemistry
• Organic Methodology and Organic Synthesis
• Physical Chemistry
• Supramolecular Chemistry and Heterocycles
• Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

The Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) dictionary is a structured database containing detailed information on over 500,000 chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.

• Dictionary of Analytical Reagents
• Dictionary of Carbohydrates
• Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
• Dictionary of Natural Products
• Dictionary of Organic Compounds
• Dictionary of Drugs 

The compounds covered in CCD can be generally characterized as follows:

• The basic fundamental organic and inorganic compounds of simple structure, including the elements, inorganic binary and ternary compounds (hydrides, halides, oxides, sulfides);
• Virtually every known natural product including those of unknown structure;
• All currently marketed drugs, including all those listed in generic name compilations (US Adopted Names, International Nonproprietary Names, British Approved Names, Japanese Accepted Names), as well as those undergoing clinical trials;Compounds with an established use such as catalysts, solvents, starting materials, synthetic reagents, analytical reagents;
• Important co-ordination compounds, e.g., amines, phosphines, alkoxy complexes, and major well-characterised bioinorganics;
• Organometallic compounds representative of all important structural types (in the case of ligands with organic substituents, typically the parent member of each series, where known, together with a selection of homologues);
• Important biochemicals and minerals;
• Other compounds of particular interest because of their chemical, structural or biological properties, including many newly synthesised compounds of active research interest.

Search

Tour the Dictionary of Natural Products